The Chicks Get an Addition

The chicks are growing bigger and bigger every day.   Their feathers are coming in and they are jumping and running and flying all the time.  The brooder box is starting to feel too small for them.  So I decided to expand it to give them more  space.

Last summer when we thought we were moving to Ireland, we got a few plastic bins for shipping.  I used one for the brooder box, but I had another.  I would use that.

IMG_6822I could clip them together and double the available space.  But we would need a door.

IMG_6823I marked where the opening should go, and Bill drilled holes for the corners.

IMG_6829Then he used a saw to cut it out.

IMG_6828We lined up the boxes to make a matching opening in the second box.  There was a bit of a gap between the doors because of the angle of the box.

IMG_6831But a 2×4 scrap left over from the big run, fit perfectly to make a bridge.

IMG_6832So problem solved.

IMG_6835I clipped them together and lined the bottoms with newspaper.

IMG_6837I added shavings.  I put the food, water and “Mom” in the side with the light.  That would be the warmer side for eating and sleeping.

IMG_6839The other side would be the playroom…with mirrors, a roost and their grit. Treats could go in this side as well.  They like to chase each other for treats and  shavings go everywhere.  This way maybe the food and water would stay a bit cleaner.

IMG_6840For fun, I hung a potholder that my friend, Carole,  had made for me on the outside of the box.   I thought the chicken pattern might interest them.

So did they like it?

I made a video of their reaction but for some reason it won’t upload to WordPress.  I will try to post it on the Brookwood Shire Facebook page later.

Interestingly, it was little Keara who  was the first into the new area….perhaps she thought it was her old box…or after spending all that time looking through her window, she knew there were other places to explore….in any case she was first.  Even more amazingly, Blossom followed her….she is usually last to try everything.  But eventually they all discovered the door and checked it out.

IMG_6852By the time I added strawberries and herbs, they were all there.

IMG_6854At one point, Marigold decided she would be gatekeeper.

IMG_6856Until Lucinda reminded her that she didn’t need to go through the door.  She could just go over the top!  

In any case, they have plenty of room now….

IMG_6857…and all is well.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Baby Chicks, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chicks Get an Addition

  1. Michele spencer says:

    Gosh they grow fast! I wanted to come see them when they were little chicks but I missed that phase–darn! I always have a dog with me when I see you and forget about the chicks. Can’t wait to see them and feel their softness. You are doing such a great job with them! You’re the ” chicken whisperer” don’t ya know?

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

