Poor Little Keara

IMG_6655On Saturday, I noticed little Keara was limping.  She had been very quiet and sleeping a lot on Friday as well.  I couldn’t really see anything wrong with her leg/foot but I had added a roost and some things to climb on so I wondered if perhaps she had fallen or something.  She was sleeping in the feather duster and I hoped  that if she rested a bit, she would be fine.

But on Sunday she was much worse.  She was holding her leg up and trembling if the others got near her.  They were all running around jostling each other and I think she had been knocked over a few times.   It was clear the day of rest had not helped at all.  She would need to be separated so she could heal.  

IMG_6703I put her in a box by herself.  I gave her the feather duster as she was all alone.  She curled up and went to sleep.   After a few hours she was feeling much better.  Her foot was down but she was still limping.  She would need more time.

IMG_6693She was missing out on a lot of fun, but it couldn’t be helped.

IMG_6714The other chicks were very busy exploring their little world and didn’t seem to miss their friend.  You can see how their feathers are coming in and they are getting huge!

By Monday morning she was still limping.  She was sleeping less and eating and drinking, but her foot still bothered her.  On closer examination, her ankle joint was swollen and one of her toes was very limp.  After checking online and speaking with my wonderful chicken vet, I decided to try a tape split.  Wrapping the swollen joint was just too hard on such a tiny chick, but I could tape the limp toe.  

IMG_6732 This actually gave her a lot of support and she was able to walk much better.  

She is feeling much better but she is lonely.  She wants to go back with her friends.  I have brought them out one at a time to be with her, but it is not the same.  And she got a little carried away walking around with them and ended up holding her foot up again.  Too soon.  She needs to rest more.

IMG_6730Her box is right next to the brooder box the others are in.

So I decided to at least give her a window so she could see them.

IMG_6727cut a little hole in her box….right near her beloved feather duster (Mom).

IMG_6724She loves watching her friends.  IMG_6729I hope her toe heals soon so she can join them…poor little Keara!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Baby Chicks, Hens, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poor Little Keara

  1. joanne gregoire says:

    Poor baby. She sure has the best of care and she’ll be fine soon.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

