Adventures with Beatrix

Just thought I would catch you up on Beatrix and her impacted crop.  It has been a bit of an adventure.  She seemed to be getting better so I went ahead and brought Prudence home.  I thought she would be better off up in Cluckingham Palace, being a chicken and it would be good to have a friend to be with.  They were very happy to be back up in Cluckingham Palace.  They checked out all the nesting boxes and tried the food….they did seem to know they were home.

But Beatrix’s crop was not reducing so I decided to bring her to the vet.  There was definitely something that wasn’t breaking down and that is bad.  We decided to give her a few more days but if it was still impacted she would need surgery to empty the crop.

She had the surgery a week ago.  She did great and was eating , drinking ad pooping right away.  But she would need to stay inside until the stitches came out…which would be in 10 days.  And Prudence couldn’t be with her…because of the stitches.  

At least her friend in the mirror could be with her.  She had to wear a support to help the crop muscle work.  You can see the pink tie on her back.  Not her favorite thing.

She had a blue one as well.  She hated them both.  Luckily, her crop is emptying fine now so she doesn’t need them any more.

Prudence has been up in Cluckingham Palace during the day and coming in at night.  It is not the best situation, but she clearly enjoys being up there..especially if I give her mealy worms.  Though it will be very good when they can both be up there.  Beatrix’s stitches come out on Friday, so hopefully things will be somewhat back to normal by the weekend.  We have had enough adventure thank you very much.

I have also been reorganizing the kitchen.  Now that we know we are staying there are a few things I want to do.  The first was to sand down and reoil the top of the island…and to paint it white.  So I did that.

It seems much brighter…and of course I had to empty it which  gave me the opportunity to clean and reorganize it all.  Long overdue.  

I have lots of ideas for the kitchen but gardening season is approaching so much of it may have to wait until the Fall…but I did got a few new tea towels…for Spring.

I love this one with the bunny…

…and these floral ones are very bright against the blue cabinets.

..and one more bunny one.  

Spring IS coming!!!  And we are very ready!

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Brookwood Shire, Hens, house projects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adventures with Beatrix

  1. Celeste says:

    Love that you are adjusting back at Brookwood Shire so quickly. The bunny towel is my favorite! Hope to have tea soon💐🌺🌸

  2. joanne gregoire says:

    I’m glad Beatrix is doing better. love the towels!

  3. Your hens are very lucky girls to have you looking after them so well! Hope Beatrix makes a speedy recovery ( I’m sure she will!)

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

