Home Sweet Home

So we are home.  Ireland was the most interesting adventure….but the fact is we have made Brookwood Shire too perfect.  We have decided to stay.

We arrived home on Sunday and were greeted by some bitter cold weather.  But it has warmed up and the last few days have been just lovely…though this is New England and it is still March so more bitter weather is predicted for the week end.  We will miss the gentle Irish weather..but we have survived in New England this long…..it is not impossible.

It took awhile to get the house back together after being gone for four months….but we are settling in.  

Merlin seems to have finally remembered who we are….he was very suspicious at first.

But he has not missed any naps in”his” chair…

The primroses our thoughtful house sitter, Joan, left us have been potted up and placed in a sunny window….adding their own special cheeriness to the house.  It feels nice.

My first project of course, was to get Cluckingham Palace ready so my girls could come home.

I moved the “funky chickens” out of the nesting box to the potting shelf.  I put up curtains and added towels to the windows to keep out the drafts.

I hung a fleece near the roost.

And I hung the “bed canopy” above the nesting box.

I got food and put back the canisters for worms, oyster shells and grit.

It was starting to look cozy.

A basket of towels and my little egg box from Ireland.  Yes, it was definitely looking more like Cluckingham Palace.   The girls will be fine here.

I had spoken to Carole, from Whispering Pines, who has been caring for my girls and we agreed that they  would come home on Saturday.  So I was very surprised when she called yesterday.  Beatrix has an impacted crop.  This has happened before.  It means she needs to be inside with lots of massage to help the crop empty.  If the crop gets infected there will be a sour smell and she will need medicine.  We decided that I would take her now.  Prudence will stay for a few more days because with Beatrix in the house she would be alone in Cluckingham Palace.

So Beatrix arrived last night.  She is in a crate in the loom room with a mirror.  She is fascinated by her new “friend.”

But for her large crop, she is fine.  She is eating , drinking and pooping and she is very talkative.  I am hoping that frequent crop massage will sort out the problem.

I brought her up to Cluckingham Palace for awhile today.  She explored for awhile but I was afraid she would eat straw so I brought her down to the greenhouse.

 

There she had the most delicious dust bath!  The soil was warm and the sun was shining.  It has been a long winter.  

She loved it!

And life goes on…there is still mail to sort through…and boxes in the cellar to be unpacked…and baby chicks to order….and neighbors and friends to catch up with….

But we are home…and it does feel right.

 

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Brookwood Shire, Hens, New England Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. You sound so content, hope routine falls back into place with ease.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

