A Visit to Whispering Pines Farm

Today I went up to visit my friend Carole at Whispering Pines Farm.  It is always delightful to see her.  But there is an added bonus because my beloved hens, Beatrix and Prudence, now live there as well.  They have been there since July.  I have of course missed them but they are doing fine.

They started out in the side area..with just a few other hens.  But now they have all been moved to the front, bigger coop.  

img_5750There are a lot of hens there…lots of potential new friends.

img_5765There is lovely door..very colorful..with a delightful chicken on it.

img_5751Beatrix was hanging out with her new friend, Olive when I first got there.

img_5758Prudence was nearby.  She has lost her tail feathers..beginning to molt…but otherwise fine.

img_5754They have a swing in their new coop…but no one was using it.

img_5760Beatrix’s new best friend is Gladys.  They are both Americaunas and are together a lot.  They sleep together in one of the nesting boxes.  Beatrix was only barely tolerated  by her sisters here at Brookwood Shire…she has always wanted a friend.  It really is delightful to see her so happy.

img_5761Prudence was “queen” of Cluckingham Palace and misses it, I think.  Her best friend was Amber who we sadly lost in March.  She is part of this new flock but has not yet made any special friends.

img_5755Though there are lots to choose from..  One of them even looks like her.  I hope as time goes by she will find someone to be with.

Carole and I had a lovely visit.  We share a love of hens, sheep, cats and Ireland so there was lots to talk about.

It was getting dark by the time I left and everyone was getting ready for bed.

img_5770 img_5769Goodnight my sweet girls.  I will come and visit you again before we leave for Ireland.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

