The Gardens of Brookwood Shire …part 2

Summer.  This has been the hottest, driest summer I can ever remember.  The gardens are really struggling.  Add to that that I have not had time to tend them as I usually do and it is understandable that they are not as lush and vibrant as usual this year.  Is has been very disappointing…especially because it is my last summer here.  Of course it does make cool, wet Ireland more attractive.  

So most of these pictures are from past summers.  When the gardens were at their best.  Summer is when the flowers have to share the glory with the veggie beds…a busy time of harvesting…and bouquets…and glorious color!

IMG_1951These lovely clematis have grown up this trellis for over ten years.  Their moment is brief but magnificent and I always look forward to their cheery blooms.  Sadly, they did not return this year..which makes this picture even more special.

IMG_2105Impatiens add color to the shade gardens.  The Spring flowers have had their time and impatiens take their place.

IMG_2281Foxglove blooms early and then it generally gets too hot.  

IMG_4328Garlic scapes appear and are harvested.  They are just gorgeous.

Lilies bloom.

IMG_2282They are stunning against the bark of the birch.

IMG_5285Bearded iris also appear.

IMG_2245The meadow flowers and the persicaria bloom, adding more color to the borders.

import sept 26 2012 076Bee balm and daisies are everywhere.

IMG_2294Soon joined byBlack-eyed Susans.

IMG_4395IMG_4392IMG_4394

And suddenly everything is ablaze with color.

Meanwhile, the vegetables have ripened.

IMG_2702 IMG_2694 IMG_2660 IMG_2650IMG_4460 IMG_4418IMG_2463IMG_5593

And harvesting is ongoing.

IMG_4525 IMG_4402

IMG_4519 IMG_4529

Tomatoes are roasted to be frozen and basil is made into pesto.  It is a busy time.

And finally, the morning glories begin to bloom!

IMG_3880

And they are glorious!

IMG_4549By now the sunflowers have grown very tall and bloomed.  Summer has peaked.  

Fall approaches….

IMG_4629…already the mums have begun.

 

 

 

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, summer. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Gardens of Brookwood Shire …part 2

  1. Hi Patti, thank you for sending your blog… your gardens are stunning. The photos are now reminding me of inheriting flower gardens over 20 years ago, they were a joy to tend. I look forward to gardening at Brookwood Shire. The clematis are so abundant and beautiful… as are all the other flowers, and veggies, too!. blessings, Victoria

  2. So pretty – you do such a beautiful job with all of your gardens. Glad I looked at the pictures because I forgot about the roasted tomatoes! Will do them again this year. Thanks for posting your lovely pictures.

  3. Anne Wilson says:

    Your gardens are a credit to you, they are wonderful. Most of what you have growing grows here as well but possibly not at the same time as you are used to. Tomatoes and peppers are defiantly a polytunnel job here.

    • patti says:

      Thank you, Anne. Yes I am thinking that tomatoes, peppers and probably basil will need a polytunnel or greenhouse. They do like it hot. And when I visited the Organic Center it looked like you have different varieties of plants. But I was assured that I will be able to grow most of my favorites.
      I will have to learn a lot but it will be fun. I will miss my gardens here but I will have new ones…without the extremes of New England weather to contend with.

      • Anne Wilson says:

        The only thing I have spotted in your garden that I doubt would grow outside here is the Morning Glory, I even had trouble growing that in the south of England. I also think that you have different names for things such as Black Eyed Susan, here it’s called Rudbeckia.

  4. Joanne says:

    You truely have become a master gardener. Every garden is beautiful with this plant or that plant poking up throught the rest, seemingly placed just so for perfect impact!

    • patti says:

      Thank you Joanne. That means a lot coming from you. I think I have grown a lot from my initial symmetrical phase. Looking to see how nature does it seems to be key. It is a journey and I know it will continue in Ireland…but it did begin with you and I will always be grateful for that.

  5. erinob333 says:

    Patti do you know when you are moving yet?

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

