Brookwood Shire for Sale

So we are back.  Ireland was great.  I hope you enjoyed it, too.  We love our cottage in Leitrim and can’t wait to get back.  So the time has come to leave Brookwood Shire.

The final step.  I will not pretend that it is easy to walk away.  This is where I began to garden…from annuals to perennials to vegetables and berries.  This is where I began my love affair with chickens and where I first began to learn about permaculture.  I have learned so much over the years and I leave a piece of myself in every garden….and in Cluckingham Palace.  And of course, this was the home we shared with Fergus.

But it is time to go..the last good bye before we begin our adventures in Ireland.  So Brookwood Shire is for sale.

I have shared many pictures of the gardens, the girls and of course of Fergus and Merlin.  The house has been in the background for many of these pictures so I know you have a sense of what it looks like.  But I have never given a tour before.  So one last time.

image

The living room with fireplace. A cozy spot in the winter with sun pouring in from the south facing windows and from the skylight above.

imageThe dining area.  Still in the living room.  it is lovely to have a fire in the fireplace and share a meal.

imageThe kitchen…open to the living room with another skylight pouring sunlight into the  space.  The window over the sink looks onto the sunroom and the gardens beyond.

imageMy version of an Irish dresser.  Bill built the shelves and I have filled them with pottery, baskets, jars of grains and of course, tea.  Beside it is my china cabinet made from an old broom closet.  Shelves with a touch of lace and dishes.  Pans are below and a St. Brigid’s cross above.

imageThe sunroom with the gardens beyond.  It was this room and a view to the backyard that inspired the gardens….and it is a lovely spot for plants.

imageA cozy place to sit and watch the birds .

imageOr, on a winter day, to enjoy the fire.
imageOur bedroom.  Not huge..nothing at Brookwood Shire is huge, but room for a bed..

image…and a bureau and wardrobe.

image

Another bedroom.  I use it as my loom room.  I wove my first scarves here….mostly gifts for friends and family….and towels as well.  There is a lovely view of the gardens from here…well from every window..but it is nice to look up from weaving and see flowers.

imageAnother bedroom that is used as a den.  Bill also uses it as an office and printing room for his photography.  
image

And and for his big tv.

image

And the bathroom.  Some of you may remember when I painted it a few years ago.  

imageThe sink with the new light fixture above and the cute little shelf that Bill put in for me.

So there you have it.  The interior of Brookwood Shire.

There is more of course…I will give you a tour of the gardens and outbuildings soon.

IMG_5316

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Brookwood Shire, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brookwood Shire for Sale

  1. What a lovely house! I hope you find a buyer quickly and can getback to your Irish cottage. I have enjoyed visiting Ireland with you on your other blog.

    • patti says:

      Thanks. We like it. It is small but perfect for two people…and a cat and dog. I will be sad to sell it, but we are excited about Ireland…and eager to get back. So I hope it sells quickly as well. Glad to have you along on our Irish adventures.

  2. Such a lovely place. I’m sure it will be snapped up.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

