More Good-byes

I have always known that my girls would not be able to come to Ireland with us.  My friend Carole, from Whispering Pines,  offered to take them.  She has been my chicken mentor and treats her hens very well.  I have learned a lot from her and I know she will take very good care of them.  

So today was the day.  Last night was their last night in Cluckingham Palace.

IMG_5509 IMG_5510Though of course, they didn’t know it.

This morning I made scones because I know they love them and I wanted them to have a special breakfast,

IMG_5530So after their yogurt and blueberries, I brought out a scone for them.  YUM!

And then it was time to go.

IMG_5532The car is packed with food, dishes, and all their things.  They are in the carriers, waiting to go to their new home.  Such an adventure!

IMG_5533So we drove to Whispering Pines Farm. They were happy to get out of the carriers and were VERY interested in the chickens on the other side of the gate.  They have their own little section for now.  They can see the other hens and watch them and eventually they will join the flock.

IMG_5536They have their own little house.  It is smaller than Cluckinham Palace but it is very cozy…and safe.

IMG_5534

Gladys and Olive came over to meet the newcomers.

IMG_5542Gladys looks a bit like Beatrix so maybe they will be friends.

IMG_5535Beatrix is interested.

IMG_5537Not yet.  But perhaps soon.  For now the gate will remain closed so everyone can get used to each other.

IMG_5538There is lots to explore.  Lovely soft dirt for dust baths, and delicious bugs to find.

IMG_5539Pretty exciting.  I think they like it.  And it will be wonderful to be part of a flock.  

I will miss them.  But they will be fine.

Carole just emailed me to tell me that after a snack, they have gone to bed and are settling in for the night.  

And I can visit whenever I want.  🙂

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More Good-byes

  1. It’s so great that they are moving someplace lovely and loving. I just hope their new BFFs are happy to double their flock.

    • patti says:

      Oh there are more than Gladys and Olive in the flock..but I guess they are the welcoming committee. There are 3 more in with Gladys and Olive and another 11 in another area. There will be lot of friends to choose from eventually. And Carole is very loving…so while it will be a bit of an adjustment (for all of us) but I think it will be fine.

  2. Aww, what a lovely post. Such a lovely feeling for you that your girls will be happy and cared for, what more could you ask?

  3. Michele spencer says:

    I’m glad you had a wonderful place to take them and a caregiver that you trust. It’s hard enough giving up your beloved girls so it must be a relief to know they are going to such a place. I’ll miss calling out to the girls as I walk by and I know how much you will miss them. Hang in there. I’ll always remember fondly the time when I cared for them when you were in Ireland. That’s when I found out how wonderfully endearing chickens are and that they have distinct and individual personalities! Someday I hope to have some of my own.

  4. Anne Wilson says:

    Although I have never met Carole I feel that I know her through her blog and I’m sure she will take great care of your girls. I’m sure that you will love Ireland, we do and have been here for 25 years now. We live in the next county to where you are renting so I will email Carole with our phone number which she can pass on to you, maybe we will meet up sometime. All the best for your move.

    • patti says:

      Carole is wonderful and I feel very lucky that my girls are now with her….though I do miss them. We have wanted to retire in Ireland forever so we are thrilled that it is actually happening. I think we will like it there. Thank you for the offer of your phone number. I would love to chat ..I am sure we will have lots of questions!

  5. Pingback: A Visit to Whispering Pines Farm | Life at Brookwood Shire

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

