Fergus

Today was a very sad day. Today we said good bye to Fergus.

 I think he hung on for his birthday.  A few days before his birthday, he started having trouble breathing.  The weather had turned suddenly hot and we thought it might be that.  He found it impossible to walk or to swim, but was pretty happy  hanging out in the cool house.  It was troubling but he has rallied so many times, we hoped he would improve.  But then, Wednesday morning, the day after his birthday, was very cool and he still refused to go for a walk and his breathing worsened.  About 5 years ago he was diagnosed with laryngeal paralysis.  It is common in Labs and means that the flaps that close to prevent food from getting into his lungs get lazy and don’t open and close properly.  It made him sensitive to heat but otherwise he was fine.  But it is progressive and we guessed it had gotten worse.  I called my Vet and she agreed that was probably what it was..and that perhaps one of the flaps had just closed.   This meant he was getting very little air.   He was panting a lot and his breathing sounded very congested.    And he was starting to cough.  We were told that it could get worse quickly….and that his walking and swimming days were over.  It was very bad news, especially after we had just celebrated his 14th birthday.  

Laying in a cool house, struggling to breath is no kind of life..no matter how loved you are or how many treats you are given.   So we made the very hard decision, to say goodbye.  His Vet came today.

Fergus was always a very sweet dog.  There wasn’t an aggressive bone in his body.  He never even barked.  He loved everyone and he was loved in return.  It was always wonderful when walking him to see another person approach.  Fergus would see them and he would start smiling.  He would approach them as if they were his best friend and try to get them to pet him.  No matter how bad a day they might be having, Fergus could make them smile.  It was quite amazing.  We met so many people because of Fergus.  He was very special.  

In his younger days he was quite mischievous.  He loved stealing things from people..hats, mittens, water bottles.  He would snatch whatever it was and run…absolutely joyous. He loved to be chased or to play tug with the item…or just to play.  Despite how annoying that might seem, no one ever seemed to mind.  They would just laugh and Fergus would have another friend.  

We feel very blessed to have had 14 years with this special boy.  He was an absolute joy.  He will be sorely missed..but he will be in our hearts forever.

EPSON MFP image

EPSON MFP image

EPSON MFP image

EPSON MFP image

 DSCN0624IMG_0336IMG_5136IMG_0235IMG_2793IMG_4934IMG_1995ipad pics 042
IMG_5345IMG_5335Farewell, sweet boy….we will always love you.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fergus, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fergus

  1. wspines says:

    I am so very sorry Patti and Bill. He was such a huge part of your life you will miss him forever. I am so thankful that I knew him he was so sweet, and kind. We knew this day would come but it isn’t easy. He is now over the rainbow bridge stealing water bottles and waiting. I am so sad. Xx
    He had such a wonderful life with you

  2. Michele says:

    Oh Patti and Bill, my heart is so heavy and sad for you both. It is 2:30 Am so I will keep this brief for now and hope I’m cognizant enough to articulate.
    This morning when I said good morning to you Patti, I knew. In your one word I heard an utter sorrow. I really hoped I had it wrong.
    I am so, so sorry for the pain and loss you are feeling. There is no denying that he was a very special boy. As you said, to know him was to love him. I will always cherish the memories I have of caring for him when you traveled. So sweet and quite a sense of humor too! He was mad-cap and funny and loved our silly games. I truly love him and his side kick, Merlin. You and Bill were the best parents in the whole world to him and you gave have him then most fabulous life. He lived so happy, loving life and all those in it; spreading that love and joy everywhere he went. Never a more gentle or sweeter dog have I met. I will mourn him and miss him. I’m grateful to have shared in some of the brightness and laughter he exuded ever so cooley and effortlessly these past 14 years. He will be missed by everyone.
    I’m so sorry for the pain you are feeling and I don’t say that lightly and I don’t know of anything I can say that wouldnt sound inadequate. I truly know the depth of your loss. I know the keening that the body feels deep in every cell of your bodies. It always felt like an amputation to me when I lost Simba. As if a piece of me died with him. I pray that your love and for one another and your vast memories of Fergus will comfort you during this time. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Anything I can do at all please ask.
    Guess this wasn’t brief after all!
    Love you guys, michele

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry. But so happy that he had a great life surrounded by love and nature and a cat and chickens. It’s sad to see him go but it’s wonderful you had such a special guy in your lives for so long.

    Hugs all around!

  4. joanne says:

    That’s so sad but you did the best for him. He had a wonderful full life. On to new adventures sweet Fergus.

  5. Judy says:

    So hard to lose a beloved pet; he was a special boy.

  6. Mary Jean says:

    We will miss Fergus’ sweet friendly greetings here on Brookwood Drive- sorry to hear about his passing.

  7. We are all saying how sorry we are and I have tears literally falling down my cheeks, I didn’t know Fergus, had never met him but still am so sad. Thank you so much for allowing this special dog into our lives and also into our hearts. You have shared such wonderful memories today of your beloved friend, thank you. xx

  8. Sorry for your loss.

  9. hobacaitbe says:

    Patti, this is the first time I have logged onto my blog in a very long time and I started to look at the blogs that I followed. I read this one first. I am sorry for your loss of Fergus. I never had a dog until 2 1/2 years ago when Lil brought Wrigley into our lives. I can’t find the words but because of Wrigley, I think I understand.
    Ed

  10. Pingback: A Cottage in Leitrim | Ireland Calling

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

