A Strange December

Despite its cold start, December has turned very warm and mild.  It has been above freezing most of the time…and not a hint of snow.  El Nino?  Climate change?  I am sure that in the grand scheme of things, this might not be such a good thing…but I am loving it!

As are the girls.   
IMG_4918Their big run is still up and they are out enjoying themselves most days.  They still have a few pumpkins to finish.

But the squirrels have gotten most of  the pumpkins.

IMG_4910Here is one now..feasting in the pumpkin patch.

IMG_4913They are doing a very thorough job!

It has also been great weather for gathering greens and filling the window boxes. IMG_4858Here is the little shed.

IMG_4862

Cluckingham Palace, of course, got stockings as well.

IMG_4912And I even managed to get a wreath for the door this year.  Somehow that never happened last year.  It would be more festive with a bit of snow, but I am ok with this.

Inside, I have been doing my usual greens….It is so bright and cheery after the browns of  Autumn.

IMG_4875The porch is looking festive.

Though the stove is not lit.  Too warm!

IMG_4937

I am certain there will be plenty of cozy fires before winter is over…but not yet.

IMG_4893

No fire in the fireplace yet either, but Fergus doesn’t mind.

IMG_4931And Merlin seems quite content curled up in his favorite chair.

More greens in the kitchen.  The kitchen is one of my favorite rooms to decorate.

IMG_4922

This is my version of an Irish dresser.  Maybe in Ireland I will have a  proper one.

IMG_4925

The counter…

IMG_4924

…and the sink.  Greens everywhere!

IMG_4927

Even the bathroom got some.  Why not?

The weather may be unseasonably warm… 

IMG_4940

….but Brookwood Shire is getting ready for Christmas! 🎄🎅🎁🔔

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens, holiday greens, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Strange December

  1. Joanne says:

    Everything is beautiful and an inspiration to me as always.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

