December Arrives

We have been very lucky with weather this Fall.   November has been very mild.  I am not complaining..on the contrary, I have been loving it.  Great for  getting all the Fall chores done,  

But today December arrived…bringing a raw, cold, dark day with on and off sleet/freezing rain.  Yuck.  Well I suppose it had to happen..we are approaching the Solstice..but it is not my favorite.

And my girls aren’t fond of it either.  They are hanging out in the coop feeling a bit sorry for themselves.

IMG_4842Amber really hates the cold and Prudence is hanging out with her.

IMG_4843Beatrix (who is fine by the way..seemingly recovered from her crop issues) is also in the coop, wondering what to do.

IMG_4836I have put some of the pumpkins and indian corn left over from the Fall window boxes in their run.  They have been enjoying them…but not today.

IMG_4845They went out briefly earlier, but not for long.  They just don’t like it!

I gave them some new straw so they would have something to do.

IMG_4848They will scratch and shred and spread it around the coop.  It is better than sitting and sulking.

IMG_4834The rest of the pumpkins from the Fall window boxes are piled in the pumpkin patch.  The squirrels are still busy feasting on them, but some will be left.  We will get a few plants in the Spring I think.

Our wood was finally delivered and we managed to stack in when the weather was milder.

IMG_4832It should keep us toasty warm this winter.

Speaking of winter and the Solstice….

IMG_4849I have begun gathering greens…..it is December now…

Let the festivities begin! 🎄🎅🎁🔔

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Hens, holiday greens, New England Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December Arrives

  1. joanne says:

    Happy December Patti!

  2. Pam R says:

    I finally finished the gardens on that lovely warm Friday after Thanksgiving. Glad to be inside now doing my Christmas stuff with a warm wood stove heating the house.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

