A Killing Frost

The last three nights have brought frost warnings.  This is not unusual for October in New England, so I was not surprised.  But Fall got started late this year and we have had pretty warm weather…so it feels early.  The trees have been glorious but are a bit behind….but then, quite suddenly,  it turned cold!  It went from lows in the 40s to lows in the teens!!!  It was quite a shock!

I covered the few things that remained in the garden..onions, kale, chard and some celery.  Even hardy kale doesn’t like temperatures in the teens.

And I covered the tender plants in the greenhouse.  Even the mums and the potatoes got covered.  But I decided that it was late in the season and the marigolds, nasturtiums would be on their own.    

IMG_4684 IMG_4680

There were too many of them and they were scattered all over….

And I hoped that the mums in the front would be ok.

IMG_4742

Mums don’t mind a light frost.  I did what I could and hoped for the best.

It was not a compete diasater….

IMG_4784

The mums are a bit discolored, but not dead.  

The nasturtiums and marigolds though….they were heartbreaking.

IMG_4780 IMG_4775

And I forgot about the morning glories.

IMG_4779They do NOT like frost!

IMG_4778

The mum spent the night in the greenhouse so it was ok.

The peppers in the greenhouse, even covered, didn’t make it…

IMG_4791..but a few things survived.

IMG_4790The potatoes look a bit unhappy but I think they are ok.

IMG_4785The celery pulled through.

IMG_4786As did the kale..

IMG_4787The chard,

IMG_4796And the onions.

But the hydrangeas..

IMG_4761

..are done for this year.  Very sad, they looked.

IMG_4782

The rosemary came inside for the winter so it is fine.

IMG_4793But the sage and the lavender braved the cold quite well though.

I will cut back the dead things…and harvest the rest.  The season is over…there is raking to do and there will be wood to stack….and we will move inside.  There will be cozy fires and lovely soups and knitting to finish….

But I will miss my gardens….and I will begin dreaming of Spring!

IMG_3978

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, New England Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Killing Frost

  1. wspines says:

    It’s so sad to see your beautiful garden go but there’s always next spring here or maybe Ireland

  2. Pam R says:

    I hate pulling up slimy nasturtiums and marigolds, so they were taken out on Friday. The chard all took a hit and went to the chickens today. Kale was fine. I covered the celery and the parsley, as I am still harvesting them. Garden’s looking pretty bare now…

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

