September Arrives

We turned the calendar to a new month this morning.  September at last.  I am usually very ready to say good bye to August and welcome the cooler Fall temperatures that September brings.  But this year it has remained hot.  Not good for going back to school.  But luckily for me, I no longer  have to go back.   But it is also not good for the gardens.  Often things recover a bit in September but I fear that may not happen this year.  Things are a bit bedraggled and not at their best.  We need rain as well and that is not helping.

But it is not a total loss.

IMG_4554The Squash Arch has been very productive.  There was still some powdery mildew and a few vines insisted on growing on the ground, but we have a lot of squash.

IMG_4543We will have lots of creamy squash soup this winter.  Yum!

IMG_4546The second planting of lettuce has recovered from Peter’s nibbling and is doing well.

IMG_4553There are more tomatoes to roast.  This should fill the freezer.  Tomato soup, tomato sauce….There will be plenty of tomatoes this winter!

IMG_4550Not to mention the tomatoes in the greenhouse.

IMG_4545The basil is also thriving in the heat.  A few more batches of pesto and then I think I will just dry the rest of the basil.

IMG_4552The second planting of potatoes is growing.  With the greenhouse there is time for them to mature I hope.

IMG_4555The raspberries have been very prolific this summer.  There may even be enough to freeze.  Or perhaps I should attempt jam.  Hmm..

IMG_4547

And the kale and the chard keep producing.  It has been a good harvest this year.

IMG_4549

The sunflowers are beautiful.

The late summer flowers are having their turn.

IMG_4568Sedum….

IMG_4562Summer phlox..

IMG_4567Garlic chives….

IMG_4570Marigolds..

IMG_4566And of course, Black-eyed Susans, all continue to add their brilliant colors to the garden.  Soon it will be time for pumpkins and mums….

IMG_4577

I didn’t plant any pumpkins this year but we do have a few volunteer gourds in with the carrots.

IMG_4560

Despite the heat and end of summer fatigue, nature just keeps on producing.

IMG_4574Amber though, dislikes the heat.  She will take a shady spot any day thank you very much.  (Please don’t notice that she is missing her tail feathers..she is very embarrassed about it…..Molting has begun!)

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to September Arrives

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    Lovely garden. I am with Amber! Not the tailless, molting part, but the seek the shade, do not like the heat/humidity part!

  2. Janet says:

    Thanks for sharing these lovely pictures. Looks like you have had a busy summer. I ,it’s stop by and try those “baby” tomatoes ( my youngest grandson calls them baby reds)

  3. Joanne says:

    Your gardens continue to amaze me. And tell Amber that she looks very cute.

    • patti says:

      I had a good teacher… And the chicken poop doesn’t hurt. 😉. I will tell Amber that you thinks she is cute. She knows she is beautiful and likes to be appreciated.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

