Be Careful What You Wish For

Last year my tomatoes got a blight in early August.  We got a few, but not enough to freeze for the winter.  Shortly after that, the basil caught the blight and my “pesto all winter”  fantasy faded.  So this year I planted extra tomatoes and extra basil.  I was determined to have enough.  I started them in the greenhouse and they were huge by the time I planted them.  I hoped it would be a good year.  So you can imagine my horror when the tomato blight returned in late July!  There were tons of green tomatoes so I cut back the blighted leaves and hoped everything would ripen anyway.  I started harvesting basil, just in case, and made a bunch of pesto.

Well the good news is that, despite the blight, the tomatoes are doing fine.  They look a bit pathetic without many leaves, but they keep producing tomatoes.

IMG_4523 These are just the Roma tomatoes.

IMG_4524The regular tomatoes also continue to grow fat and juicy.

IMG_4529And the basil remains beautiful!

So I have been very busy roasting tomatoes.  It is very easy.

IMG_4516Gather some tomatoes, basil, oregano, thyme and rosemary.  Wash.

Cut the tomatoes in half and place cut side down on an oiled baking sheet.  Add the herbs.  Bake at 400F for about 20 minutes.

IMG_4519Your kitchen will smell heavenly.  Let them cool for a bit and then remove the skins.  They come right off…

IMG_4527

..and my girls LOVE them!  Here they come..always ready for treats.

Once the skins are off, just put the roasted tomatoes in a canning jar.

IMG_4521

I got one quart from that panful.

IMG_4520It will go in the freezer with the other jars and the pesto.  And pesto will definitely be on our menu this winter!

IMG_4522 IMG_4528And there is plenty more basil and more tomatoes in the garden!  I will be busy for awhile I think.  So be careful what you wish for…you may find yourself with a lot to do..

Unlike my boys…

IMG_4517

IMG_4518…who are having a VERY relaxing summer!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    WOW!! So many! unbelievable!! Looking good there in the Shire!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

