The Mysterious Missing Shoe

We had a bit of a mystery here yesterday.  I have pair of Keen water shoes that I wear every day when I take Fergus for his walk.  They are good because I can wear them into the river if I need to.  I got them years ago when Fergus was a puppy and apt to “steal” anything people left by the river.  He would excitedly snatch anything he saw,  dash into the river with it and often as not, drop it there.  I would then have to wade out to retrieve whatever it was, apologizing profusely.  Amazingly, most people just thought it was cute.  In any case, these shoes have been very handy over the years and even though Fergus is more “mature” now and no longer steals things, they are my “go for a walk” shoes in the summer.

IMG_4507I keep them outside, in the carport, with my Wellies.

So you can imagine my surprise when Fergus and I went out to go for our walk yesterday and found this.

IMG_4508Only one shoe.  Where was the other one?  A quick search found nothing.  Where in the world could it be?  Who would take one shoe?  Very mysterious.  Fergus was impatient for his walk so I found some other shoes and off we went.

IMG_4503We had a great walk with a few swims and came home.

I had a more thorough search for my missing shoe..but nothing.  Not in the carport or on the steps or fallen behind anything.  How strange.  

Never mind.  I was convinced it would turn up…I did some gardening.  Luckily I don’t generally wear shoes for gardening.

I worked my way from garden to garden and just as I was finishing up the last garden, I looked down and saw this.

IMG_4505MY SHOE!  What in the world was it doing up here?  How did it get here?  We will never know….

IMG_4456I wonder if Peter knows anything about it……

In any case, I was thrilled to have my shoe back.  Now I will be ready to go for a walk tomorrow…

IMG_4506At least I hope so! 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fergus, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Mysterious Missing Shoe

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    Something carted it off and changed it’s mind! Happy you have a pair again..

  2. wspines says:

    I just wonder who a neighbor’s pet? What a mystery

  3. Joanne says:

    I wonder if it was the bear that was walking around your yard with my hat??

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

