Zucchini!

It has been hazy, hot and humid for the last few days.  Not atypical weather for July in New England, but not my favorite weather .   But apparently zucchini loves it.  It has gotten a bit out of control.  

IMG_4460It just keeps coming and coming!  So today, since it was too hot for me to be in the gardens, I thought I would try to use at least some of it.  Luckily it is a very versatile vegetable and you can use zucchini in lots of different recipes.

What should I make?  After a search of the internet, I settled on a few things.  First I would make zucchini chocolate chip cookies.  In my experience adding chocolate chips to almost anything is a guaranteed success.

IMG_4463They certainly look good.

Next I made another batch of zucchini oat bread.  I made this a few weeks ago and it was delicious.

IMG_4469It is lovely for breakfast or with a cup o tea.

I had a bit of grated zucchini left over from the bread.

IMG_4466

So the girls got a little treat.  

But what to do with the rest of the zucchini?  I have just acquired this lovely new kitchen tool.

IMG_4461It is a julienne peeler and it turns zucchini into a pasta like food.  Or so they say.  I decided to try it out.  The internet is filled with delicious looking recipes.  I settled on one that used things that I had in the garden.  Zucchini noodles with Pesto.  Since basil likes hot weather there was plenty of that as well.

I made the pesto.

IMG_4476There is nothing like the smell of fresh basil!

And then it was time to try out the peeler.

IMG_4472It worked beautifully and soon I had a bowl of zucchini noodles.

IMG_4473The recipe said you could use them as is or heat them a bit.  I decided to heat them.

IMG_4477Into the wok they went.  I added some pesto and a few cherry tomatoes from the garden.

IMG_4475

IMG_4478It was starting to smell delicious!

IMG_4479A bit of cheese and it was perfect!

I had also roasted some cauliflower.  It doesn’t like the heat so I wanted to use it up.

IMG_4480

And voila!  Dinner almost entirely from the garden.  Zucchini noodles are very interesting.  They taste a bit like pasta but have a lovely crunchy texture.  Nice.

So all in all it was a very productive day…

IMG_4481

..but there is STILL zucchini left!  

Well tomorrow is another day……

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Eating Well, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zucchini!

  1. wspines says:

    It all looks so good, where did you get the new tool?

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

