Garden Update

While May was challenging with heatwaves and frost warnings, June has been lovely.  We even had a few rainy days!  It has been seasonal or even a bit cooler than normal…so I have been enjoying my time in the gardens.  Most everything is planted now…though there are a few odds and ends to find places for.  The plants are loving the weather as well and are growing like crazy!  It has been wonderful.

Today I planted the leftover tomatoes, peppers and eggplant in the greenhouse.  This is an experiment (like so much that I do here).  I have no idea if it will get too hot in the greenhouse..but these are extra plants so I thought I would see what happens.

IMG_4310I have gotten a shade cloth for the greenhouse so it is not as hot as it was.  Tomatoes, peppers and eggplant like it hot so I am hoping they will be happy and keep producing into the Fall.

didn’t have room for the extra basil, so that ended up in a pot on the front steps….it can go into the greenhouse in the Fall if it is still happy.

IMG_4322I still had plants left but found homes for most of them with neighbors.

IMG_4311I had three Roma tomatoes left over that I potted up as well.  Roma tomatoes freeze really well so I am hoping for a huge harvest.  

I also have tomatoes, peppers, eggplant and basil in raised beds.  

IMG_4238This bed has strawberries on the edges as well.  So far the deer have left them alone and Peter (my resident rabbit..I am determined NOT to turn into Farmer MacGregor) has only nibbled a few.

The peas (which the deer DID sample) have been enjoying the cooler weather and come back.

IMG_4323We have a few flowers so the peas won’t be far behind.  I LOVE peas!

The lettuce is also enjoying the cooler weather and so far no bears have been by.

IMG_4284So salads are on the menu most nights.  Yum!

IMG_4282

The kale and chard are glorious!  That is catmint and lemon balm behind the kale….everything is just exploding with the nice weather.

The first broccoli I planted is just forming heads.

IMG_4321

And the newer plant are coming along.

IMG_4237I am hoping for a continuous harvest.

The garlic scapes have appeared.

IMG_4320They really are beautiful.  I will remove them and we will stir fry them with something….and the garlic will be ready soon!

The sunflowers are planted.

IMG_4235There are fewer now as the deer have sampled them (!) but they will be glorious.

The spinach bolted in the heat of last month, but is happier now.  It has gotten huge and the leaves are still tasty.

IMG_4283Spinach, garlic, tomatoes and eggs is one my favorite things to cook up after a long day in the garden.  Easy, quick and tasty!

The potatoes I planted in bags have flowered.IMG_4290

 

There are more planted in straw….but they were planted much later.  They won’t be ready for awhile yet.  These will be our first potatoes of the season….perhaps a lovely potato salad….

All in all, the gardens are doing well.  All beds, veggie or flower have been tidied and mulched.  The window boxes and pots are done and doing well. And the girls big run is up!

IMG_2129

I haven’t mowed in there so there is a forest of grass.  Very happy girls! 

It has been a busy month at Brookwood Shire…the days are long but productive.  And the season is just beginning!

IMG_4319

Good night for now…..and Happy Gardening!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garden Update

  1. wspines says:

    Everything looks wonderful garden is really gorgeous I love the video of the chickens they are so happy

  2. Joanne says:

    I love the video! The gardens look great.

  3. joan morvidelli says:

    Wow, have you put in a lot of work! It all looks wonderful.. girls are happy. Like the 3 of them walking away from you.. cuteness.. 🐔🐔🐔

  4. margyc5850 says:

    what a wonderful post, the garden looks very lush and productive and happy chickens 🙂 x

  5. kim says:

    What a wonderful productive garden. Everything looks so lush and fresh despite your hungry visitors. I’m glad to have found a new blog to read 🙂

    • pattigail says:

      Thank you, Kim. We do have too many hungry visitors but I plant extra so there seems to be enough to go around. I popped over to your blog as well. Your gardens are also lovely. I noticed you are in Southwest England. Many years ago I was lucky enough to student teach in Exmouth in Devon. It is a very beautiful part of the world. Welcome to Brookwood Shire!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

