Frost Warning!

I have said for years that I do not know how anything survives in New England.  After the very hot weather of early May, we had a week or so of somewhat “normal” temperatures…but now tonight there is a frost warning!  I am very glad that I resisted the temptation to go ahead and plant tender plants…I have lived here too long to be tricked by an early heat wave.

My green house is overflowing with plants ready to be planted.

IMG_4057But they will have to wait a bit longer.  It is still too early for tender plants.  Our last frost date is traditionally the end of May.

While most of the plants I have planted are hardy and will be fine tonight, I have planted a few marigolds and nasturtiumso I have covered them.

IMG_4080It looks a bit spooky with the white sheets here and there.

During the week or so of “normal” weather I was able to get a lot of tidying and mulching done.  And Bill and I also built a squash arch.  We had already made this little arch.

IMG_3912This will be for zucchini.  Last year my friend, Peter Rabbit, managed to eat most of our baby zucchinis.  This year I will grow them up..out of his reach.

Then I saw this article online about building a squash arch.  I love arches and this one is tall enough to walk under.  So we decided to try it.

IMG_4046We wove pvc piping through some of the fence we had from the original pumpkin patch.  Bill made two little raised beds to grow the squash in.  The piping goes over rebar which is hammered into the ground.  Pretty simple.  The arch is over an old stump from a maple tree that was cut a few years ago.  I am thinking of stepping stones through the arch…the stump will just be a step.

I painted it black…

IMG_4054..and started filling the raised beds.  Straw and shavings from the coop is the first layer.  I will also add some compost and top it off with some soil.  It will be beautiful with the big orange squash blossoms growing over it…and I will plant a few morning glories as well.  It will be ready by the time it is safe to plant the squash.

Meanwhile, I have gotten flowers for all my window boxes…but as they are mostly tender plants, the frost warning puts planting them on hold as well.  

IMG_4083Some of the flowers are spending the night in the greenhouse.

IMG_4084The rest are tucked into these tents.  Hopefully they will be protected there.

We will have to wait a bit longer for our window boxes I am afraid..

IMG_4075Luckily we have many perennials beginning to bloom!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, New England Weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frost Warning!

  1. Pam R says:

    Only 43F at 6AM here in Hatfield. Yay!! No frost. I’m still holding to the May 31 last frost date. That was the latest date I had a significant frost here in Hatfield. All my tenders are still inside the house, not so tenders in the cold frame, and the others on the picnic table were put under it. That’s all the energy I had last night.

    • pattigail says:

      It was 40 here and it doesn’t look like there was a frost. But better safe than sorry I think. I agree about May 31. People plant sooner but I have seen late frosts before. I must say that the greenhouse has been very handy to have. Though I did bring in tomatoes, peppers, eggplant and basil. They really HATE the cold!! Happy gardening!

  2. I really enjoyed seeing your garden. Everything is beautiful. I adore the idea of a squash arch, how clever. And that website is a real jewel, thanks for the intro. Hope warmer days are around the corner. We are playing the waiting game too. 🙂

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

