April Showers Bring May Flowers…..

Well, we didn’t actually get that many April showers this year…but the flowers don’t seem to care.  May begins tomorrow….and it will be greeted by many lovely blooms….the gardens are just beginning.

IMG_3888These checkered lilies are in the woodland garden.  Last year I waited and waited for the flowers to come..and then before I could get  picture a little bunny came and nibbled them……

IMG_3890These Bleeding Hearts are in the same garden..

IMG_3924As is this Lamium.  I have them all over but this is always the first to bloom.  It is a beautiful ground cover and meanders all over the woodland floor….

IMG_3925I know some people think of violets as weeds, but I love them.  That is Sweet Woodruff next to the violets.  The Sweet Woodruff will have a lovely white flower in a few weeks.  They are stunning but they will take over if you let them.

IMG_3901

The daffodils have opened and are gorgeous as ever.

IMG_3921And Grape Hyacinth are popping up everywhere.

IMG_3917The forsythia has bloomed at last.  It is a bit late this year…all the more beautiful for the wait.

In addition to the flowers, we have this.

IMG_3920This is the stump of the Corkscrew Willow tree that we lost in the  Thanksgiving snowstorm. It has a baby willow just starting….I had hoped it would. 

More interesting perhaps though is this.

IMG_3923These are logs cut from the Willow.  They are in are woodpile and they have sprouted!  I am wondering how I can nurture them enough for a few cuttings!

Nature is unstoppable and  life is bursting out all over.

IMG_3909The greenhouse is full of baby plants just waiting to be planted….such an exciting time of year.   May will see the gardens planted….

IMG_3898

 

And the woodlands returned to life!

Happy Mayday everyone!

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April Showers Bring May Flowers…..

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    The sprouting willows are amazing!

  2. Joanne says:

    Your gardens look great! Try burying one of the logs up to the sprouts, keeping the soil right up to the base of the sprouts. As the sprouts elongate, press the soil up to the ever-rising shoot, even nipping off some of the bottom leaves. The shoot should start to produce roots where it has soil around it, especially where the leaf nodes are. Good luck. Remember, I have a 5 foot willow looking for a new home…

  3. Carole adams says:

    Oh my gosh you are so far ahead of us The pictures are beautiful and I’m so glad that Amber laid a good egg she’s such a cute hen. Hope you get together soon

    • pattigail says:

      Amber is a sweetie for sure…though a total princess.😉. We are actually behind this year …but I have south facing edges to the woodland garden so that at least has come to life!

  4. hobacaitbe says:

    I miss my garden. Planted peas and spinach before I left Lil e-mailed they are sprouting. She has started eating asparagus. I do enjoy the mountain wild flowers here in VA.
    Ed aka hoba

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

