Back to Gardening !

IMG_3865I am happy to report that Amber proudly laid a beautiful egg yesterday..shell and all!  So that adventure seems to be over for now at least.  So we were all able to get back to gardening.

The girls have been very busy in the compost area.

IMG_3868 IMG_3870It was so cold this winter that the compost just froze.  The girls have been doing their best to break it down.

And while they were doing that I was able to work a bit on the raised beds.  I cleaned out the Coop Under the Stairs (where they spent too much time this winter) and added the poopy shavings to all the beds.  Then I added some compost mixed with soil that I got at the garden center.

IMG_3872The tomatoes, peppers and eggplants will be in these beds this year.  They won’t be planted for awhile but the beds are ready.  The girls should be finished with the compost by then so I will add a bit of that when I plant.

IMG_3877

I did plant peas today though and some spinach.  It is still a bit cold but I think spinach will be alright..and I can easily cover it if I need to.

IMG_3873I also planted some broccoli and some lettuce.  I got these at the garden center when I got the soil….I couldn’t resist.  I have some very small lettuce and broccoli that I started from seed but it is not ready to be planted yet and given how popular my lettuce is with the local wildlife (An Unexpected Visitor) I thought I would plant some extra this year.

IMG_3876I started this kale and chard from seed and it is still a bit small but the greenhouse is getting full and kale and chard are pretty hardy.  I have hoops over everything I planted and will cover them at night for awhile since it is still in the 30s here at night.

The season has begun!  There are a lot of plants still in the greenhouse and more under the grow light inside..the planting has just begun.  It is a wonderful time of year!

Even the primroses that were so cheerful inside all winter have been moved outside…

IMG_3797 IMG_3798 IMG_3801

….where they remain a cheerful sight!

At long last…Spring has sprung!   🌷🌺🌻

Happy gardening everyone!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to Gardening !

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    I knew you would be having fun in the yard!

  2. Wonderful news about Amber. I just love primrose and those colors are stunning, really pop off the page. Yay for spring-at-last! I planted first pole beans out today. Not brave enough to leave them completely uncovered with our cold eves, but still, they are in the earth 🙂

  3. hobacaitbe says:

    Me too!!! I planted peas and spinach. I won’t be here to see them sprout or weed them. It will be interesting to see what they look-like when I return.
    Ed

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

