The Promise of Spring

A few days ago a friend of mine asked me if I had ordered any seeds yet.  She was placing an order.  I told her I hadn’t even really thought about it.  It has been such a cold winter and there is still so much snow that it is hard to imagine anything ever growing outside again.

But then it got a bit warmer..and things are looking brighter.  Suddenly snow is melting, mud is appearing and the air feels gentle.  There is the smell of Spring on the breeze and the birds are singing!  Our solar panels have reemerged from their winter hibernation and we producing electricity again!  The world is thawing..life is returning and we are VERY ready!

IMG_3685The girls are back up in Cluckingham Palace at last!  They even ventured out into the run today.. The sun was glorious!

So I got out the seed starting things and decided it was time.  

IMG_3674Yesterday I went over to our local garden center and got some seeds and some seed starter.  I have some seeds left from last year as well and I have the trays that came with the greenhouse.  I have had the heating mat and the light for a few seasons so it was easy to get it all set up.

IMG_3691I gathered up the seeds and the trays and put some of the seed starter in a bin.  I moistened it and mixed it until it was the right consistency.  It felt wonderful to have my hands in dirt again!

IMG_3692I filled the tray with starting mix.  I usually use little six packs but these trays came with the greenhouse so I used those.  There are 72 cells in each one.  Room for lots of seeds.

IMG_3693Eggplant and peppers take a long time so I always start them first.  This year I am starting other things as well because I am hoping that the greenhouse will enable me to get things out sooner.  I am hoping for larger plants like they sell at the farmer’s market.  We shall see.  

IMG_3696I ended up with eggplant, peppers, tomatoes, basil, lettuce and marigolds in this tray.  Once I planted the seeds I covered them with a bit more soil and misted them.

IMG_3697Next I added water to the tray that they will go in.  This lets water come up from the bottom as well and keeps the soil moist.  I have a heating mat under the trays to keep it warm enough for germination.

IMG_3700I ended up planting a second tray..with kale, spinach, chard and alyssum.  These are all pretty hardy plants and can go out pretty early..at least as far as the greenhouse.  The trays are covered with plastic domes to keep things warm and moist.  Once the seedling emerge they will need light, but for now the heating mat is enough.

So now we wait.  Soon we should have green shoots…then leaves…plants and eventually a bountiful garden.  That is the promise of Spring….

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Spring and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Promise of Spring

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    You are getting back into your element! See you tomorrow evening!

  2. hobacaitbe says:

    Good for you Patti, the view out your window is different than out mine, I still have 2 feet of snow covering my gardens. The covered run with the melting snow has turned into a swamp. I spent this afternoon trying to get it to drain. It’s going to be a wonderful mud season. Jack and the ladies have been getting out for an hour or so these last 2 warm days. They mostly walk in the canyons over to the wood shed where they can get a dust bath in. I haven’t ordered my seeds yet, not in the mood.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      I know exactly how you feel. This was definitely a “why do we live here?” sort of winter….and yours was even worse than ours. We still have plenty of snow and the gardens remain buried, but there are patches of earth emerging and of course lots of mud! But even that is welcome at this point. We are, of course, expecting a wintery mix this week end…..it is not over yet. Winter is not gone…but its grip is loosening. Hang in there….we will be complaining about the heat before long. 😉🌷

      • hobacaitbe says:

        A few years back we had a winter that just kept going. I ran out of firewood and the furnace just ran and ran and ran. I said then that I would NEVER complain about the heat again. And I haven’t. Taking the kayaks out to an island and going for a cool dip cures most anything.

  3. Miss Bee says:

    For a gardener, Spring is a most exciting time of the year! I have stayed more dirty than clean lately as a result. 🙂

  4. wspines says:

    The girls looks so happy and I haven’t thought about seeds either. Beautiful pictures

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

