Waiting For Spring

It has been a very cold and snowy winter here in New England.  Like so much of the country, our temperatures are way below normal and our snowbanks are very high.  It is very discouraging.  My gardens are buried under deep snow.  This should protect them some from the cold, but I miss them.  

The greenhouse is also partially buried.

IMG_4645I try to keep the snow off the roof, but as a result the snow is higher beside it.  It is lovely when the sun is shining but it has been cloudy and grey a lot and the greenhouse is pretty frosty then.  I have moved all the plants inside for now…..I was hoping to start seeds in there in a few weeks but I don’t know.

My girls are also wondering where the “nice” outside is.  They spend nights in the Coop Under the Stairs, but go back up to Cluckingham Palace for the warmest part of the day.  

IMG_3570But there is snow in their run.  The have tried going out but it is TOO cold.  Snacks help but they, like everyone else, are very ready for Spring!!

We have been spending time by the fire.

IMG_3604

And by the wood stove.

IMG_3598Merlin basks unashamedly in its warmth.  

  The primroses remain cheerful.

IMG_3546

And I got some hyacinth for Valentine’s Day.

IMG_3626

They smell heavenly!  

I have been weaving some.

IMG_3627These towels are for a friend.  They are  almost finished.

And I just got a new pattern and some yarn fromPeace Fleece.

IMG_3633

I think there is plenty of winter left to at least start the sweater.  So there is plenty to do.

But the seed catalogs are starting to arrive.

IMG_3630

And I am very ready for Spring!!!    🌷🌻🌹

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, Gardens, Hens, Nature, New England Weather, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waiting For Spring

  1. Joanne says:

    That’s one of the things I love about winter; lot’s of time to do indoor projects.

  2. Pam R says:

    Your hyacinth is sooo lovely!! And I like the pattern on the town. So cool you have a loom! I am glad the greenhouse has withstood the storms. We’ve had both wood stoves going here for weeks on end. So much for passive solar heat THIS winter….

  3. Nice loom. You do cabin fever in style…the open fire and wood stove so cozy. Your pets and plants look healthy and content. Hang in there a little longer. The thaw is not long off (fingers crossed).

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

