Almond Milk

Today I decided to make almond milk.  I have been drinking soy milk and it is fine, but I have been hearing so much about how good almond milk is I wanted to try it.  It is remarkably simple.

IMG_3527

You need a blender, almonds, filtered water and a “nut bag” (don’t laugh, that is what it is called) to strain the milk through.  I soaked the almonds last night.  Simply cover 1 cup of almonds with water and leave overnight.

IMG_3528Rinse the soaked almonds.

IMG_3529Put rinsed almonds in the blender.

IMG_3530Add 3 ½ cups of filtered water.  

IMG_3532The recipe called for a few dates and a vanilla bean.  That sounds delicious, but I wanted to try simple, unsweetened almond milk, so I just used almonds and filtered water.

IMG_3533I used a high setting and blended for a couple of minutes.  This depends somewhat on the kind of blender you have.  

IMG_3534Put the “nut bag” in a bowl.

IMG_3535Pour the almond milk in.

IMG_3536Squeeze all the liquid from the bag and you are left with a lovely lump of almond meal.

IMG_3538Pour your almond milk into a container.  I used a canning jar, because I had one, but I think an old fashioned glass milk bottle would be wonderful..  I will look for one of those.

IMG_3539And Voila!  Almond milk and almond meal!  How does it taste?  Well..it tastes like almonds.  A vanilla bean might be nice..but it is fine.  In coffee it is wonderful!  Just a hint of almond mixed with the coffee is pretty special.

And the almond meal?

IMG_3540I just happened to find a recipe for almond meal chocolate chip cookies.  Really,  what could be better than chocolate chip cookies and milk?

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Plant based diet. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Almond Milk

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    What time should I come over??
    The cookies should still be warm from the oven.

    Ed

  2. I’ve been making this for years (now I use pecans since I live on a pecan orchard) and love it. I make more than I need at any one time and freeze some in plastic containers. I always have some in the fridge because I use it on my muesli every morning. It adds a wonderful nutty taste, it’s healthy and it’s cheap. What’s not to love?

    For the almond (pecan) meal, I spread it on a cookie sheet and dry it on low in the oven. Then I freeze it and use it if and when required. I found baking with the wet version tended to mess up the recipes. I now often substitute about 1/3 of the flour in a recipe for almond meal. It makes whatever I’m baking richer and moister. It’s fantastic in things like carrot cake or banana bread. Play with some of your recipes and you’ll be surprised how many ways you can use the meal.

    I make a killer almond (pecan) shortbread cookie but now I’ve got to try this gluten free almond (pecan) choccie one. I do know gluten free people and hosting them is always problematic. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. You show the ingredients but not the directions. I’m guessing mix it all together (no butter or something wet?) with the chocolate grated, form into balls then bake at a low heat until it just starts to brown.

  4. Patti, it sounds so simple to make the almond milk. Where did you get the nut bag or what could be used in it’s place?

    • pattigail says:

      I got the nutbag at River Vally Market in Northampton..cheese cloth would also work I think, but the bag is easy. I think amazon has them as well.

      • I just put mine into a normal sieve that I have in my kitchen cupboard. I hang the glop (that’s the sound it makes when I move it from the blender to the sieve) over a bowl for a couple of hours then push out the milk with a spoon. A bit more meal gets into my milk this way but, since I use it on my muesli, that’s a bonus.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

