The Darkest Day

We awoke to a light dusting of snow this morning.  Just enough to coat the grass and cling to branches.  It was quite lovely.

IMG_4600The winterberry bushes remain a brilliant red…I have used quite a few branches for my window boxes and shared some with a few neighbors, but they remain glorious.  

IMG_4592The window boxes also got a coating of snow…very festive.

We need a bit of festive at this time of year.  It has been very grey and cloudy this December.  I have been doing my usual decorating…bringing in greens to remind us that life will return.

IMG_4578The “porch”  is looking cheery..

 IMG_4588

IMG_4589

…as is the kitchen counter.

IMG_4573

Everywhere really.  I think of greens as the flowers of this season..so why not fill the house?

And the window boxes…

IMG_4599 IMG_4601 IMG_4614

IMG_4606

Cluckingham Palace, of course, also got stockings.

And today I finished my holiday baking.  Cookies mostly.

IMG_4619Tomorrow I will start packing them up and delivering them to friends…

At this dark time of year, treats are always welcome!

But today is the Solstice…Midwinter..the shortest day.  Tomorrow the light will begin to return as the days grown longer.  There is a LOT of winter ahead of us, but we have turned the corner…and are on our way  to Spring!!!

Happy Solstice everyone!!

IMG_0995

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Darkness and Light, holiday greens, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Darkest Day

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    The Shire looks wonderful!! I saw the winterberry last week when I was out with Fergus. It is a stunning red! MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! ❤

  2. Pam R. says:

    Love!! your decorations. How are they faring with the wood stove? The one year I tried them here, they dried out almost instantly, but then we have 2 wood stoves as our sole heat source (besides the sun). Your winterberry is glorious!!

    Just got back from doing the Luminaria here in Hatfield. Excellent way to spend the start of the Solstice. Here’s to a longer day tomorrow!!

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks Pam. Most of the greens are in vases of water so they are ok. The sprigs of pine and winterberry do dry out… But the woodstove isnt on all the time and when it isnt it is pretty cool in here. They usually make it til jan 6…and then they will be replaced woth primroses!😊

  3. Joanne says:

    What a cozy home. It looks like Merlin has outgrown his ‘blankie’ in front of the wood stove. I love the stocking on the window box-great idea!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

