Mirror, Mirror On the Wall

My girls continue to boycott their run, despite the fact that I have tried to make it more interesting.

IMG_3412I even added Indian Corn that was left from the window boxes.  At least the ones the squirrels hadn’t eaten.   But no.  They refuse to go out there.  I am starting to think it is just too different.  They don’t like different.

So they are hanging out in the coop…and they are bored…and feeling a little sorry for themselves (princesses that they are).  Poor girls!  I read an article that said hens like mirrors.  I thought that might prove interesting.

IMG_3416I had an old mirror in the cellar so I put it in the coop.   They immediately all hid in the corner. Are all hens so cautious?  In any case I waited.  

IMG_3417Beatrix was the first to approach. 

IMG_3418” Hey, there is a gorgeous hen in there..come and see.”

IMG_3419“Where?”

IMG_3420“She’s right! Amber come and see this.”  

IMG_3424“Where? Let me see.  Oh! You are right!  She is beautiful!”

IMG_3425“I can’t stop looking at her!”

IMG_3429“Hey! Wait a minute, there are THREE hens in there !”

So I left them with their new “friends.”  They are at least less bored…for now.

Tomorrow I will try to entice them into the run….

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mirror, Mirror On the Wall

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    Love the new friends!!

  2. Joanne says:

    That’s funny! I love how you wrote what they were saying to each other.

  3. hobacaitbe says:

    Nice post, who knows what goes on in the mind of a chicken??
    I have a “like new” swing that you could put in their run. My ladies never used it. I cleaned out the larger run the other day and tied the swing to the side of the run to give me more working room. I should just take it down and be happy I didn’t buy it.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      Thank you. At this point I think they are just afraid of everything. Brianna was always the one to try things and they would just follow. Without her, they are a bit lost. I put a new roost in the run in June and they have ignored it. Brianna loved being up high and I think she would have gone up on the roost and they would have followed. But no one else has ventured up there. I can’t imagine them using a swing….though I might be willing to try it. Not promising that your girls didn’t use it though. Still, if we can figure out a way to get it here, I would take it. Hope you are doing well.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

