Damage From The Storm

My Thanksgiving turned out to be much less of a cozy day than I had hoped.  Despite the length of the storm, we did not end up getting that much snow.  But it was a heavy, wet snow and that is hard on trees.  I went out numerous times during the storm to shake the heavy snow off branches but it was not enough for some of the trees.

The Corkscrew Willow, affectionately called the “twisty tree” by many, still had its leaves and the weight was just too much.

IMG_3401This tree was given to me by a very good friend so I was very unhappy to see it toppled over.  I had hoped we might be able to brace it up and maybe save it, but when the snow melted it was clear that it was uprooted and we couldn’t budge it.

IMG_3410I am afraid we will have to cut it.  Hopefully it will still put up some shoots in the Spring and it will grow back…though that will take a very long time.  I may take a few cuttings and try to root them as well, and as a last resort, my friend says she has a few “babies” in pots.  Still, it is a loss.  It is such an interesting tree.

Most of my birches have bounced back as the snow melted.  I was able to get most of the snow off the smaller ones.  But my oldest birches, which we had cabled together a few years ago after another storm, were not so lucky.

IMG_3407They are also uprooted and mostly on the ground.  Ironically, there were a few babies growing this summer but I cut them back because I intended to keep the cabled ones.  I am hopeful that new shoots will come up in the Spring here as well, but I will miss these birches.  They were here when we moved in, and the gardens have grown up around them.  It is always hard to lose trees…they become good friends over the years.

In addition, the girls’ outside run was flattened.  I tried to prop it up after the storm but it was hopeless.  I am afraid the girls are in the little run for the winter.

IMG_3406I have taken it down.  It looks quite empty without it.

Before the storm I added some things to the little run to make it more interesting….just in case…

IMG_3347….leaves, an old log, some stumps to stand on…

IMG_3348…and I hung some parsley from the garden..

IMG_3405But so far, they are boycotting it and just hanging out in the coop.  Poor girls!

The good news is that the green house held up fine and everything is still alive.IMG_3315So it was not a complete loss.

But  I must say, it has not improved my attitude toward winter!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Damage From The Storm

  1. joan morvidelli says:

    Oh YUCK! I liked the twisty tree!! 😦 Sorry for the tree loss! You really got hit!

  2. So sorry about the trees. I do love your greenhouse, though!

  3. Pam R. says:

    Hard to lose special trees like that, but delighted your greenhouse held up well. Pang of greenhouse jealousy looking at that pic of such healthy plants….

  4. Great photos. The run does look like fun. Hopefully they’ll venture out one day soon.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

