And So It Begins

It is quiet.  I am sitting by the fire watching as the snow begins to fall.  It is supposed to snow all day and all night.

IMG_9370.JPG
As you can see, Merlin is already basking in the warmth of the stove.

IMG_9364.JPG
Fergus is dozing on the couch.

IMG_3379The girls are tucked in the coop with their oatmeal.  They were out earlier but, sensible girls that they are, they went in when the snow began to fall.

Winter seems to be arriving today.  Since we are not going anywhere for Thanksgiving, it won’t affect us as much as it will the people who are going “over the river and through the woods..” for the holiday.  We do not have to venture out at all.  The shopping is done.  Today will be a day of baking and cooking in preparation for the feast tomorrow.

I may even get a chance to work on my newest sweater.

IMG_9342.JPG   It is my first “chicken sweater.”  I usually knit sheep into my sweaters.  I think it is very cute.

So it will be a cozy day.  

IMG_3400Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

IMG_3387

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fergus, Hens, Merlin, New England Weather, Seasons, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And So It Begins

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Bill, Fergus and Merlin, and the Girls.. stay cozy!

  2. Pam R. says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

    I was just talking about that song, which I learned in grade school decades back. It always reminded me that we NEVER, in my memory, had a white Thanksgiving that we could have sleighed to Grandma’s house. So to me, this one will be unique, enough snow to sleigh in.

    • pattigail says:

      Oh, dear, my age is showing again. I remember a few snowyThanksgivings when I was little. But you are right lately the snow has politely waited for December at least. Hope you had a nice Thankgiving as well. By the way, that song was alive and well. In classroom at least….not so long ago! 😊

  3. Linnie Jay says:

    A very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. It truly is one of those special times to stay comfy and cozy!

  4. Hope you had a lovely thanksgiving. Love the jumper, maybe you could share the pattern with us, hint hint 🙂

    • pattigail says:

      Oh dear, I am not sure how to put the pattern on line. It is from a book called Maine Island Classics by Chellie Pingree and Debbie Anderson. I will see if Bill knows how to get it online and let you know. It is an American pattern so you would have to translate a bit though.

  5. Joanne says:

    Your blog makes me smile. Happy Thanksgiving Patti, to you and Bill, the hens and Merlin and Fergus.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

