The Nights Grow Cold!

It has been a lovely Fall so far this year…we have barely had a frost and we are into November.  But that, I fear, is about to change.  Tonight is supposed to be 26F.  Well below freezing.  Brrr…

I have winterized the coop and put away all ceramic pots and birdbaths.  Most of the tender annuals have died back anyway so there is nothing to worry about there.  The mums will be alright..though they are almost done anyway.   There is not much color left.   The grey/brown of November has arrived……except in the greenhouse.  

IMG_3237There, the marigolds and alyssum are still blooming!

IMG_3243And the salvia is as well.

IMG_3239We even have a strawberry ripening!

IMG_3242And various tender plants and herbs are thriving.  I just love going in there and seeing green and living things.  

But it is not a heated greenhouse.  It gets cold at night.  So far it has been fine but I am not sure what will happen tonight.  So I decided to take some precautions.

IMG_3236I have hoops in the beds but the plants on the shelves are a bit exposed.  Time to do a bit of rearranging I think.

IMG_3247I moved the tender plants from the shelves to the area under the hoops.

IMG_3245Here is the other bed.

IMG_3253I put covers over the hoops.  This will give the plants another layer of insulation.  I hope it is enough.

IMG_3251The bigger plants are in a little tent on the potting bench.  I am not worried about the hanging plants..they are mums.  But I put the strawberry plant in the tent.

IMG_3256Everything tender is tucked in…..

IMG_3249…or come in for the night.  

I don’t know if I can keep them happy all winter, but I am determined to have them for awhile!

IMG_3250

The girls watched all this activity with great interest…..hoping for treats!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, Nature, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Nights Grow Cold!

  1. Pam R. says:

    I dug up some marjoram and oregano because the beds had far exceeded their spaces. They will go to the Valley Food swap at the Lily Library tomorrow. I dug up the rosemary and brought it into my office a couple weeks ago in the (probably vain) hope it will survive the winter.

    I also collected my fairy, her frog prince, and my glass ball fly and put them away. The prince and the fly in the garden shed, the fairy will spend the winter in the living room.

    But most everything else is left to the elements. Garden cleaning is proceeding slowly, but steadily.

    Those photos have given me a BAD case of greenhouse envy…. :))

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

