The Wheel Turns

The wheel turns…the season progresses.  It has been awhile since I have written.  It has been a glorious Fall (Autumn to most of the English speaking world) here in New England and I have been loving it!

IMG_3197

 To catch up a bit from my last post, the girls are fine.  The mysterious red stripes on Amber’s legs were most likely mites.  I cleaned the coop and added herbs to their new bedding and  I put Vaseline on their legs.  Prudence also got stripes but Beatrix never did.  Still, I treated everyone and things are much improved.  I tried adding garlic to their water (mites don’t like garlic flavored blood) but they refused to drink it.  It might have also flavored their eggs but I was willing to risk it to be rid of  the mites.  But  it was not popular.  Well, to be honest, the Vaseline wasn’t that popular either but they had no choice about that. 😊     Amber has finished molting and is gorgeous with her new feathers…but Beatrix is in the midst of a full molt and is looking quite ridiculous.

IMG_3213 I hope her feathers come back soon as it is getting cold!

IMG_3210Prudence has also stopped laying so I think she will molt soon.

As usual at this time of year, I have filled the window boxes with food for the chipmunks and squirrels.   That was not my sole intention, but that does seem to be the result.  

IMG_3004Still, they look nice for awhile….and I love doing it.

IMG_3019Cluckingham Palace is also decked out for the season.  Why not?  

And the greenhouse is filling up!  Some of the plants from the window boxes were still pretty happy so I decided to pot them up and put them in the greenhouse.  

IMG_3102It is so wonderful to see blooming flowers at this time of year!

IMG_3104The geranium is beautiful.

IMG_3109The marigolds and alyssum remain bright and cheerful.

IMG_3026 The rosemary is even flowering!   This little bee is also enjoying the warmth of the greenhouse.  I don’t know how they will do when winter arrives, but I think I will experiment with letting things winter over in the greenhouse.  I hope I can make room for the girls!  It is already getting a bit crowded.

The gardens are mostly done.  The brussels sprouts are still there, waiting for Thanksgiving dinner,  and the garlic for next year is planted..a few marigolds hang on.  And there is a bit of lettuce that I planted late in the season.

IMG_3117The alyssum is taking over the space as things are done.  It is amazingly hardy.  I planted this very early in the season with the peas and it is still blooming!

The last thing to be harvested was the celeriac.  I have never grown it before, and in fact I didn’t intend to grow it this year.  I thought to was celery when I bought it at the Farmers’ Market.  Oops.  But it is fun to try new things so I planted it.  It is supposed to store well and will be good in soups over the winter.

IMG_3124

I must say that as I pulled it up I was reminded of the mandrakes from the Harry Potter series…though it didn’t scream.  But it is not exactly the most attractive of plants…nevermind,  it may be tasty.  We shall see.  It will go in the orchard rack in the cellar  with the potatoes, onions, garlic and squash.  

There are still quite a few Fall chores to finish but we are settling in.  The days grow shorter and colder.  The nights are long.  There is a sense of drawing in.  The season of toasty warm fires, hot soups and knitting is approaching.  And some of us at least, are ready.

IMG_3090

 

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wheel Turns

  1. Well, everything is looking lovely, but with the greenhouse, I may never get you out of the Shire now!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

