Potato Harvest

Last year the deer ate my potato plants.  I have since been told that potatoes are part of the nightshade family and are toxic.  So deer shouldn’t have eaten them.  All I know is the plants were there, healthy and happy one day and the next day they were gone.  The strawberries, nearby were also gone, eaten by deer.  Something ate them.  So this year, when  I planted potatoes,  I  fenced them off.  

IMG_2258I planted more potatoes in grow bags.

IMG_2077I wanted to make sure I got a few potatoes at least.  

To my delight, they grew well and flowered.   The deer seemed to have gotten the memo about potatoes being toxic because they have left them alone.  How many potatoes would there be?  And where would I put them?  I hadn’t really thought about that.

Luckily, Gardener’s Supply (a workers’ co op and my favorite place to buy gardening toys) was having a sale.  They had a few options for storing harvest.  I chose this orchard rack.

IMG_2623It has six pull out shelves.  It will be good for onions, garlic, potatoes, squash and you could put green tomatoes there to ripen.  It came yesterday and we put it together.  I love it!

So today I went out to see how the potatoes were doing.  It has been over 10 weeks so new potatoes will be ready.  I checked the grow bags first.  There may be time to start some new sprouted potatoes…especially if the greenhouse is up by the time it gets cold…and I was curious. So I  harvested the grow bags and then planted a Fall crop.

IMG_2650New potatoes and russets.  Some were still small, but there were a few good sized ones.  Not a huge harvest, but better than last year.

Still I decided to leave the bigger potato patch for awhile.  I will wait until the plants start to die back and harvest them then.  Though I did take the fence down and weeded a bit.  

IMG_2658

 

If each on each one of  these plants has a few potatoes growing, there will be plenty.

And there is room for them in the new storage rack.

IMG_2651Three more drawers!

Luckily, when I checked the winter squash, I found this.

IMG_2659And this..

IMG_2660…..Babies!

 So we may just fill that rack yet!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Gardens, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Potato Harvest

  1. THe rack looks really workable for your harvest. Also, the taters look like they are good sized!

  2. shirehouse says:

    I have had my eye on that rack for awhile now. I love their stuff. My 2nd year of potatoes is almost ready for harvest and after last years 8 total potatoes I expanded in hopes of a real harvest this year. Yours look great!

  3. Check out that rack. It is mega cool – and looks like a corner market when you’ve filled it with your produce. I am totally impressed!

    • pattigail says:

      It is great! Lots of room,very easy access, doesn’t take up much space…..I have been wanting it for awhile but I never really needed it. But now that I have a more successful harvest..well, you have to put it somewhere. And I really do love having a bunch of food just waiting to be eaten. If I ever manage to plant the orchard I am dreaming of, it will be even more useful! 🙂

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

