A Day in the Life

It has come to my attention that I have not mentioned Fergus in awhile and some of you are concerned about how he is doing.  I am happy to report that he is doing well.  He is symptom free at the moment and enjoying his summer.  Perhaps we should spend a day with him.

 

Morning finds him sleeping soundly on his couch.  He does begin the night in our bed, but he ends up on the couch.  Less crowded I guess.

IMG_2568

While the girls and Merlin are very demanding in the morning, Fergus is happy to wait.

IMG_2311He knows that his breakfast will be ready soon.

IMG_2558Ah, here it is now.

A quick after breakfast walk for toileting and then back inside.

IMG_2564A short wait while I check on the girls.  And then it is Greenie time.

IMG_2565Greenies are a special treat. They are supposed to help keep his teeth clean.  Fergus doesn’t care about that, but he does love his Greenies! Yum!

Once everyone has had their breakfast, it is time for a proper walk.  We get in the car and drive to the “dog park.”  A glorious place!

IMG_2608

Lots to sniff!  

IMG_2569

  And then there is the river.  It meanders along the path…lots of places to swim.  Heaven for a Lab!

IMG_2573And the grass is very tasty!  

IMG_2577Making new friends at the beach….(actually he stole their ball).  

IMG_2574“Ok, let’s go…”    and we are on to the next swimming spot.

IMG_2597Third swim!  Fergus loves the water!

IMG_2600

Back on the trail.  “I love it here!”

IMG_2592Final swim.  The path parts from the river here.

IMG_2607Past the field …

IMG_2613…and back to the car.  “Do we have to go?”

Once home, he is ready for a nap.

IMG_2618

  Time to rest and wait for the next big thing..

IMG_2559…..supper!

Which is followed by more treats!

IMG_2629A special cookie..

IMG_2636…and a couple of chewies!

IMG_2616Whew! What an exhausting day!  

So as you can see, Fergus is doing ok.  

I hope you enjoyed coming along and sharing his day…and I hope he has many more!  He is a spoiled and much loved dog!

IMG_2331

“Good night,everyone!”

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fergus. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Day in the Life

  1. Oh, he is a wonderful boy! I just love that last face! ❤ and cookies, Fergus!

  2. Fantastic post. I think Fergus is adorable. He must love summer and those long walks with all that water. In winter I’m guessing his nap time lengthens and his swimming time is on hold.

    What a lucky and happy dog. Thanks for sharing him with us.

    • pattigail says:

      I agree that Fergus is adorable! 🙂 Yes, winter is a good time for long naps. He swims as long as the river is ice free….he doesn’t mind the cold at all! Glad you enjoyed Fergus’ day.

      • Okay, adorable but not bright. I’m convinced that only critters with low IQs don’t notice the cold. At least that’s my excuse – I’m way too smart to swim in cold water 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Thanks for letting me come along on your walk. That was special. His last pose says a lot!

  4. wspines says:

    Thanks so much for giving us a glimpse of his day. Hope he has many more days like this. He loks so happy. Yea Fergus

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

