The Bounty of Summer

We have had a very interesting summer.  Spring was late and colder than normal and summer has continued that trend and not been as hot as usual.  AND we have had lots of rain.  Not so much rainy days, just frequent evening thunderstorms.  Some towns have had bad storms with flooding and downed trees, but we have been lucky and mostly have just had rain.  As a result, I have not had to water at all.  Which has been very nice.  Though it has been humid so powdery mildew has been a bit of a problem.  It is always something.  

In any case, the gardens have been pretty happy and things are ripening.  

IMG_2374I harvested onions last week. 

IMG_2372And garlic as well.  They have been drying in the carport..it smells wonderful!

Today I checked the carrots and they were ready.

IMG_2464They are lumpy and irregular compared to grocery store carrots, but they taste MUCH better!  They even smell “carroty”.

IMG_2515The girls are enjoying the carrot tops.  As you can see they are back in the big run.. They were so unhappy in the little run I decided to just cover the holes and check on them often to make sure they haven’t made new ones.

IMG_2466I used a sheet and an old tablecloth.  It is a band aid fix and will need a more permanent solution eventually, but it works for now.

IMG_2480The tomatoes would like hotter weather, but they have finally started to ripen.  And there are lots of them.

IMG_2489And even after making a bunch of pesto to freeze yesterday, there is still tons of basil!  I will make more soon.  In the cold of winter, it will be delightful to enjoy homemade pesto…the taste of summer!

IMG_2487We have peppers coming, though they are still small.

IMG_2485The eggplant has flowers, but no eggplants yet.  You can see that something is eating the leaves so it may be struggling.  Hopefully we will get a few eggplants.

IMG_2498The broccoli is mostly done, but there is at least one more meal here I think.

IMG_2492The chard and the kale continue to produce.  They have been very happy this year!

IMG_2500The winter squash is flowering but no fruit yet.  Mildew has been a problem for all the squashes and pumpkins.  I have removed a lot of yellow leaves.  But there are lots of green leaves left so I am hoping the plants will be ok.

IMG_2475

We have Pumpkins!  And a few gourds as well.

The Three Sisters garden is not quite as I had imagined it.  The corn is up and looking good.

IMG_2539But the squash, which is supposed to make a ground cover at its feet, has decided to climb up.  And the beans, which are supposed to climb up, are wandering all over.

IMG_2478This is the only bean that climbed up the corn.  I did try to guide them, but perhaps all the rain knocked them down.  Or the squash just got there  first.  In any case it has been an interesting experiment.

We have had a few cucumbers and some zucchini.

IMG_2545But they are not as prolific as usual.  Perhaps the mildew is affecting them..or maybe the cooler weather.  We do have more coming, but we do not have more zucchini than we know what to do with….yet.

Unfortunately, the deer have been enjoying the green beans.

IMG_2526The plants are still alive and growing, but every time I think they may be ready to flower, the deer return.  So I am not expecting many beans this year.

But the potatoes look good.

IMG_2258I think we will have a good harvest.  They still need another week or two, but I dug down in the grow bags just to see how they were doing.

IMG_2517They are still small, but they are definitely potatoes!  Yum!

It does seem that the bounty of summer is upon us…and will be for awhile to come!

And most important of all, the catnip is glorious this year…..

IMG_2522…much to Merlin’s delight!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Bounty of Summer

  1. Great pics, Patti! Only one missing was Fergus!

  2. tinapumfrey says:

    Your garden looks amazing! Thank you for writing about it with such obvious care and enjoyment. I didn’t even get one in this year, which makes me a bit sad. Maybe next year.

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks…It is fun to have a garden…it is work, and everything doesn’t always work out as planned, but when things do it is very rewarding. I hope you get to it next year…if not, find a local farmer and reap the benefits of his/her labor! 😊

      • tinapumfrey says:

        Definitely! I will be joining in on the big family garden next year at my parents’ farm. There are eight of us, plus our spouses, and 18 grandchildren who can pitch in to varying degrees. I was foolish enough not to participate this year. I won’t miss out next year! 🙂

  3. As long as the catnip comes in, that’s all that really matters 🙂

    I can’t believe how much food you get with such a short growing season. I have almost given up with growing veggies. Herbs are okay but most veggies that I like struggle here with the blasting sun or hungry possums or drought or frost or… It’s exhausting and disheartening and about 1 km away is a farmer with a shop and I can buy everything he grows for so cheap which does not help my motivation at all!

  4. pattigail says:

    Thanks. We have a lovely farm very close by that sells farm shares…I was talking to a friend who has one the other day and I must confess it was tempting. But then today I started harvesting and there really is nothing like “shopping” in your own garden for dinner. Even with the bear, the deer, the mosquitos and the powdery mildew….I seem to be addicted to growing things! Though I don’t think I could take the heat of your summers either….so a farmer with a shop is a very good thing!

  5. Pingback: Touring the Back Roads | Tina Pumfrey

  6. shirehouse says:

    Our Three Sisters did exactly the same thing! And then of course the squirrels ate all the corn.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

