Mystery Solved?

As many of you know, I have had a bit of a problem with the girls escaping this summer.  Prudence has been renamed Houdini since I keep finding her outside the run.  And Beatrix and Amber are not completely innocent either.  So I was not totally  surprised today when I discovered Prudence and Beatrix wandering around the gardens…OUTSIDE the run!  Amber, at least today, was still in the coop.

IMG_2430Here is Prudence enjoying the gardens.

IMG_2425 Beatrix sampling some grass.

IMG_2433Amber, in the coop, wondering where everyone had gone.

I caught Beatrix and Prudence and put them back inside.  But HOW did they get out?

A close inspection of the run revealed this.

IMG_2408And this..

IMG_2409

SOMEONE has been making holes in the fence!  At first I was quite concerned that some evil predator was trying to get in and get my girls.  But I am almost certain that those holes were not there this morning and if something chewed those holes today while the girls were out there, someone would have sounded an alarm.   No…I don’t think a predator would have made these holes and then simply left.  I think my girls have figured out how to make these holes!  Peck, peck and you’re out! Freedom!  How exciting is that?  I am sure they think that they are incredibly clever to find a way out.

So they were very upset when I closed the door.

IMG_2415“Hey!  Open the door!”

IMG_2417“Let us OUT!”  “I didn’t do anything,” said Amber.

Sorry.  Not with those holes in the fence.  Not with hawks and Mama Bear about.  Silly girls.  And mending the holes won’t help if they can just make new ones.  Not a good situation.  You are in for awhile I am afraid.

IMG_2420Unhappy girls in the coop.  “What about this door?  At least open this one.”

I will have to reinforce the fence with something….it will be a few days at least before I figure out what to do.  And the girls will be stuck in the little run until I do.   Poor girls.  Too clever for their own good.

IMG_2438Perhaps a bit of watermelon will help to pass the time.

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mystery Solved?

  1. Linnie Jay says:

    Love that you solved the mystery!

    • pattigail says:

      Yes. Though the holes are new so I still don’t really know how they got out before….but hopefully whatever I do to reinforce this fencing will foil all their attempts at escape.

  2. Oh no, a clever chicken – what a nightmare 🙂 I foresee a future of you and the chickens battling it out to see who’s smarter. What you have to remember is they have all day to try to solve the problems you only think about in your down time.

    Wire, wire and more wire. Even clever birds can’t peck wire apart – can they?

  3. wspines says:

    What clever hens,Snow fence is not too expensive and comes in unfinished wood and red, Its decorative and goes up easily. I have three fences to keep my hens in and other things out. snow fence is the outer fence, chicken fencing and cattle paneling.. I do poun the snow fence into the ground so I replace it every 7 years or so.. Your post didn’t go into my reader only on facebook. Word press gets more interesting every day!

    • pattigail says:

      Strange that you didn’t get the post. Sometimes wordpress drops you from following someone..or you get dropped. That happened to me with Bealtaine Cottage at one point. But I checked and you are still listed as a follower. Interesting. Snow fence might be a good idea. I was hoping to do a more permanent fence next year. The current one is obviously not very secure…so do I band aid it together until next year or just bite the bullet and do it now. I will have to do some research. Thanks for the suggestions.

  4. Joanne says:

    Cute!

  5. I am really shocked at how clever (aka naughty) they are. Chickens never cease to amaze me. I am so lucky my girls can wander all day here with no bears or foxes

    • pattigail says:

      No foxes? Wow, I wondered how your chooks were able to just be outside all day. I would love to be able to do that..though then I would have to fence all the gardens..easier to make a run for the girls. If I can make an escape proof one from these clever (and yes naughty) girls!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

