Houdini Hen

As many of you know, I have a “big run” for my girls in addition to the permanent run which is attached to Cluckingham Palace.  It is a movable run and not as safe as the original run.  I added it so they could have access to fresh grass and insects and to have a better place for dust baths.  I had hoped to make it safer and more permanent this year but with Bill’s fractured ankle and all the other gardens, I wasn’t able to.  I ended up putting up basically the same run that they had last summer.IMG_2348I added ropes to keep the netting up so it was easier for me to walk in the run.  There is netting over the rope to keep the chickens in and the hawks out.

IMG_2346 I have earth staples in the bottom every few feet.  This secures the bottom and discourages anyone from digging under.  Since the girls are only in this run during the day and when I am home it feels ok if not perfect.

IMG_2344Close to the coop, where I connect the fence after opening or closing the door I put a log on the bottom of the fence.  There are no gaps….top or bottom.

IMG_2343I even lined up potted plants along the section of the fence closest to the coop…the only section without earth staples.  There is no way in or out without disturbing something.

So you can imagine my surprise last night when I went out to put the girls to bed and found Prudence happily pecking and scratching  OUTSIDE the run!

IMG_2362How did she get out?!

IMG_2351And she had been busy!  Clearing the straw around the zucchini.

IMG_2352Sampling the last head of lettuce..the only one that hadn’t been consumed by the bear, deer or the bunny!  We are not destined to have lettuce this summer!

IMG_2353More signs of Prudence’s adventures.

I caught her easily and put her back in with the others.IMG_2345Much to her dismay.

IMG_2350And they all went into Cluckingham Palace for a little snack before bed.

I checked the entire run, top and bottom.  There is NO WAY she could have gotten out!

 Houdini Hen.

It is a mystery.  I will keep checking to try to figure out her secret.

IMG_2359  And Prudence, no doubt, will continue to forage….on one side of the fence…or the other!

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Houdini Hen

  1. Oh she is Houdini! You need to put an outdoor camera up so you can see what they are doing!

  2. Darn that hen. Perhaps she hypnotises you and you’re actually letting her out when you’re in a trance? Or she teleports? Or she’s actually an alien in disguise… all perfectly rational explanations for your clever chicken’s behaviour.

    She’s a bright girl – treasure her!

    • pattigail says:

      Perhaps “bright” is not so good in a chicken. I would hate to see her meet Mama Bear on the outside of the fence. Then we will see just how Vegan Mama Bear is!

  3. Unbelievable! What a clever girl.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

