Brianna

ipad pics nov 2 2012 1050Today was a hard day.  Today my beloved Brianna died.  I think she may have been egg bound, though from what I have read online the symptoms of that could be other things as well.  So I am not sure.  She was not at all herself yesterday.  Unfortunately there was no Veterinarian available as it was a holiday.  I did some research online and tried to treat her symptoms,  but she grew worse as the day wore on.  I did not expect her to make it through the night.  Much to my delight she did.  Though she was not eating or drinking so she was weak.  I called my Vet this morning only to find out that the vet who sees chickens was on vacation.  I was directed to a few more vets but they were also on vacation.  Finally I found one who could see her.  I was hopeful that maybe we would get through this.  But then,  just after I put her in the crate to go, she had a seizure and died.  And she was gone.   She had just turned two on Sunday.

Brianna was number one in my little flock and had been from the first day.  She was first to do everything and she was always in charge.  And she was a very good leader.  She was…she was just “cool”.  She was never aggressive or cruel.  She didn’t have to be.  She was a quiet presence who simply went about her business, but if anyone got out of line she was there.  She never let anyone (mostly Prudence) get too pushy or mean (mostly to Beatrix).   She would simply stand between them, fluff herself up and flap her wings a few times and Prudence would get the message.  Brianna also kept watch almost like a rooster and sometimes let the others eat first.  She took care of everyone.  She never really got over Maeve’s death..she was upset every night at bedtime because Maeve was missing.  She was a wonderful girl and she will be missed.

The other girls were all upset and out of sorts today without her.  No one quite knew what to do.  Interestingly, they knew she was in the house and were ok with that,  but the minute she died, they seemed to know.  There was a lot of agitated noise in the coop immediately.  It will be awhile I think before they sort themselves out.  It will be very lonely without Brianna…for everyone.

ipad pics 065

IMG_2711 IMG_3276 IMG_3934 IMG_0321 IMG_1794

Safe journey, Brianna.  

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Brianna

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry. It’s such a sad thing to lose a sweet little creature. And you tried so hard to find a way to save her. But it was her time and you and her flock will just have to do your best to keep going without her. I know all chickens are created equal – but some are more equal than others. Brianna sounds like one of the “more equal” ones.

    RIP Brianna.

  2. Patti, She was a gem.. Each one of your girls have distinct personalities, and you know them so well.. You love them and they love you. You gave her the best home possible. So very sorry about Miss Brianna,,

  3. wspines says:

    Her bright spirit will be missed by all who knew her, Patti

  4. Joanne says:

    It breaks my heart to hear this sad news about Brianna. I know it must be so much harder for you. Our pets are our family members. Now she lives on, safe and warm within your heart, and she will be there always.

  5. hobacaitbe says:

    So sorry to hear.
    Ed

  6. Sorry for the loss of your special girl. 😦

  7. bridget says:

    It always hard when you lose a beloved pet. Time does ease the pain…

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

