The Gardens Come to Life

Things have been a bit hectic at Brookwood Shire over the last few weeks.  Bill has had his surgery and is home…waiting for his ankle to heal.  He still can not bear weight  on that foot..and won’t be able to for another 4-6 weeks.   It is a long process.  But he is pretty comfortable and has his computer for photo editing, playing games and watching You Tube.  So while he is a bit bored, he is making do.  I have been busy walking Fergus, making sure Merlin gets his meals on time (otherwise he chases poor Fergus around the house!) and helping Bill as needed.  The girls, of course, still need their yogurt and their treats as well.  And when all that is done, I have been trying to get into the gardens.

It has been a cool Spring, and things are a bit behind where they were last year at this time. That is fine with me as I am a bit behind as well!

The seeds I started are still quite small….

IMG_1488

These are mostly tender veggies so they have a few weeks before they can go  in the ground.

I ended up buying some veggie starts at the Farmer’s Market.   Time was short and I wanted to get things into the garden.  So most of my cool weather plants came from there.

IMG_1553

Broccoli, cauliflower and brussels sprouts are planted and seem pretty happy.  Someone did nibble a leaf of the brussels sprouts one night, but they haven’t been back and the leaf has regrown.

IMG_1551 The spinach is also doing well.

 IMG_1545Arugula..not a favorite of mine, but Bill loves it.  Lettuce, swiss chard, kale, onions and parsley have also been planted.

IMG_1518The peas are up at last.

IMG_1547And yesterday the carrots emerged!  

IMG_1555And today I noticed a flower on the strawberries.  

There is still much to do, but it is so nice to see things growing again!

 I have also been tidying the flower gardens.  May is a glorious time of year.  

IMG_1527The phlox is stunning this year.

IMG_1577I love phlox and have it everywhere.

IMG_1571

 

 

And in the woodland gardens….

IMG_1494St. Francis is now surrounded  by Spring blooms.

IMG_1502

This Fern leaf bleeding heart peeks out from between two chairs.

IMG_1526These stand among rocks.

IMG_1522

Virginia Bluebells dance among the Woodland Poppies.

IMG_1508

Columbine stands in a sea of violets.

IMG_1523The woodland gardens are bursting with life at this time of year!

And I am SO HAPPY to have my gardens again!

 

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Gardens Come to Life

  1. margyc5850 says:

    just read your beautiful post as I had my breakfast, what a lovely start to my day. your gardens look wonderful and the veggies look very comfy in their new beds. I’m off up to see to my ex-batt ladies and let them out into the lovely spring sunshine. have a lovely day. bright blessingsx

    • pattigail says:

      I am so glad you enjoyed the pictures of the gardens. It is wonderful to have lovely growing things outside again after a very long winter. Also hope your ex-batt ladies enjoyed their day in the Spring sunshine. How wonderful for them to have a chance at a proper life for a hen! And good for you for taking them in! Bright blessings to you and welcome to Brookwood Shire!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

