OH NO!!!!!

You just never know.  Last Friday, Good Friday, and the beginning of a holiday weekend, Bill and I were walking Fergus at the walking trails in town, also known as “the dog park.”  It is a wonderful place…miles of trails through woods, along a river and by some fields.

ipad pics nov 2 2012 663  There are no cars so it is safe to let your dog off leash and everyone does.  It is a place filled with joyous dogs, running and playing and just having a wonderful time.  As we were walking, three dogs came running towards us.  Two were in the field, but the third,  a very enthusiastic young Lab, was on the path.  He was watching the other dogs and playing some version of the “chase” game.  And he was not watching where he was going.  Bill assumed he would veer off at the last minute…I don’t think he even saw Bill.  In any case, he crashed head on into Bill, knocking him over.  The dog was fine.  But poor Bill had heard a “snap” when he fell, and we suspected,  had  broken his ankle.  Not good…in fact very bad.  The car was over a mile away and Bill couldn’t put any weight on his foot.  So I called 911 and the wonderful Fire Department came.   The ambulance couldn’t get to us but 2 EMTs came with an ATV pulling a trailer.  And they were able to get Bill to the ambulance and then to the Emergency Room.   I walked Fergus back to the car (he couldn’t understand why we didn’t finish the walk!) , brought him home and then went to the Emergency room.

Holiday week ends are not the best time to go to the ER.  Not that there is a good time exactly, but..

Bill had already had X-rays and been given something for the pain when I got there.

IMG_1207His foot was looking…well….wrong.   It was dislocated.  They would have to put it back….but they were waiting for the doctor to read the X-rays.  It was a long wait..partially because it was a holiday.

Eventually they got to us.  It was indeed fractured and would need surgery.   But  they would have to wait a few days for the swelling to go down.  Or so they said.  They realigned his foot (ouch! painful to even watch!),  put it in a splint, wrapped it,  gave Bill a prescription for pain pills and (only a mere 4 hours later) sent us on our merry way.

IMG_1280So Bill is home, his foot is splinted and wrapped as you can see.  We see the Orthopedist tomorrow and I assume surgery will be scheduled.

IMG_1240Fergus is keeping him company.

So poor Bill is laid up for awhile….weeks…maybe months in any case.  Some plans for the garden will have to be postponed….the greenhouse for instance, and the elaborate new run I had planned for the girls….The new raised beds I was considering….the list goes on. But we will manage….

You just never know what will happen.  Life throws curve balls and you have to adjust.  Hopefully Bill’s surgery will go well and healing will be quick.  And Nature will have to help a bit with the gardens..

IMG_1253

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Accidents, Gardens, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to OH NO!!!!!

  1. Well said.. Tell Bill to watch the dvd!! 🙂

  2. chrissi says:

    Ouch! I spent weeks on the couch with what sounds like a simpler break a few years back. I was a real klutz on crutches so they started me on a wheelchair, which didn’t want to get around the corner into the bedroom. Or into the bathroom so I had to hop whenever I went there. A joy and a delight. If you don’t have one yet, he will likely need a shower stool. Unless he is far more graceful than I, easing himself into and out of the tub will be far too challenging…

    Hoping this passes quickly. He doesn’t even have the silver lining of forced time away from work, or a baby to sit on his lap and play peekaboo…

    • pattigail says:

      Well, at least he has Fergus to lick his toes and Merlin to pounce on his injured foot. 😉
      You are the second person to recommend a shower stool so I guess I will look for one. Smart me to insist on getting a standard when we got the new car…it is his left foot..an automatic might be possible but he won’t be operating a clutch for a good while. I will be running all the errands i guess. I wonder if he realizes that he just became a vegetarian?😉

  3. Clicked “like” but don’t really like that he got hurt. Hope the healing goes smoothly!

  4. Joanne says:

    I hope he heels fast; that looks so painful!

  5. wspines says:

    Good Luck today, sending good thoughts your way

  6. Pam R. says:

    Oh no is right!! It sounds like a torsion break. I broke both bones in my right leg tripping on chicken netting. Bones don’t like twisting. :(( It was October 15, 2010, and I didn’t start walking until February. I have plates, pins and screws in there. I was lucky and surgery was done immediately.

    I do hope he heals faster than I did!! But I did get to update my online photo albums, and build a multi-page website while convalescing. That was the part that killed me, having to keep the leg up for months. Talk about boredom!!

    I’d suggest using arnica for the swelling, it worked real well for me. And comfrey is not called knit-bone for nothing. I used both.

    • pattigail says:

      I guess bones don’t like twisting. He too, has broken both bones in that foot. He has surgery Monday and they are saying 6-8 weeks with no weight bearing. But it wouldn’t surprise me if it was longer,😔. I am not familiar with arnica but I have been looking for comfrey for the gardens for awhile and haven’t found any. Do you know where I can get some? I will check River Valley for comfrey tea in the meantime. Thanks for the suggestion.

      • Pam R. says:

        I believe I got my 6 comfrey plants several years back from Fedco, from their trees catalog. They have been prolific plants that have not offered to spread, as many say they do.

        I just looked up the schedule and they are done for the season. Here’s the listing from page 70:

        Symphytum officinale Comfrey or Knitbone
        Well-known for its skin-soothing properties. Contains allantoin, promotes healing of skin and bone; also demulcent for lung and throat. Clusters of bell-like pinkish purple flowers dangle above the deep green bristled foliage. Easy-to-grow vigorous plant demands space and can be very invasive; be careful where you plant it and control with regular harvest. Highly recommended as a companion plant for orchards. We are offering the species, not Bocking 14, the Russian sterile hybrid, which we hope to list next year. Space 16–24″ apart in well-drained soil, sun or shade. 24–48″ tall. Sustainably grown in China, ME. Z3. ME Grown.
        L705A: 1 for $5.25
        L705B: 3 for $14.50
        L705C: 6 for $22.00

        About arnica from Wikipedia:

        Several species, such as Arnica montana and A. chamissonis, contain helenalin, a sesquiterpene lactone that is a major ingredient in anti-inflammatory preparations (used mostly for bruises).

        I used the ointment Traumeel and the homeopathic too. Both found at River Valley.

  7. If you need a couple of strong people, including one large handyman, let us know.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

