Spring Has Sprung!

“Spring has sprungthe grass is riz,
I wonder where the flowers is..
The bird is on the wing, Ain’t that absurd,
I always thought the wing was on the bird!” 

My mother loved that poem, and recited it every Spring..but with with a New York accent.  I always think of it and of her this time of year.

We have had some absolutely delightful weather the last few days. Hats and mittens are put away.  Snow shovels are put away.  Green shoots are emerging everywhere.  It was a VERY long winter!  But that is forgotten now as we begin to feel the warmth of the sun and to see life returning.  A walk around the gardens reveals many surprises.

IMG_1098This little primrose is flowering.

IMG_1104This one is just opening…a splash of color in a still brownish landscape.

IMG_1164These crocus add even more color.  They are popping up everywhere.

IMG_1138Bleeding hearts are emerging.

IMG_1101And daffodils grow through the decaying leaves.  Buds have formed…there is nothing like yellow daffodils swaying in the breeze….soon.

IMG_1173 The heather is glorious against the gray rock.  The bees were out today, very busy on the heather.  There is not a lot of food for them yet so the heather is a welcome treat.  

There is a lot of tidying to do.   Winter has left its mark.  But it is just lovely to see signs of life again.

And inside…

IMG_1095Seeds are started at last.  I am a bit late this year..but the season is a bit late as well, so I am hoping it will be ok.

IMG_1097I brought this forsythia in a few days ago. Its blossoms are a  preview of things to come.  

And I can’t wait!!!  Happy Spring everyone!

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, New England Weather, Seasons, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Has Sprung!

  1. Looking good! Happy Spring, my friend!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

