Winter Blues…All Cooped Up

I freely admit that I am not a fan of winter.  This time of year generally finds me pining for Spring.  I crave anything green, any sign of life.  I call it my “Why do I live here?” time of year.  I am sure other New Englanders can relate.  But this winter has been especially grey and grim and COLD!  We have had arctic air settle in and it is getting very old.  We need some Spring!  And I am not the only one who thinks so.  My girls have been complaining for days!  

They have been spending many nights in the Coop Under the Stairs.IMG_4543It is warmer than the outside coop for sure…but it is very small and dark.  And they are tired of being “cooped up” there.

During the warm part of the day I bring them up to Cluckinham Palace.   It is bigger and has some natural light.  And the perfect nesting box is there so it is possible to lay an egg.  But..IMG_4528..it gets cold and there are no worms.

IMG_4516Unless I give them some..which of course, I do.

There is a run attached to Cluckingham Palace.  And it is possible to go outside.  But sometimes there is SNOW in it.  And the air is COLD!

IMG_0477I coaxed them out for awhile today. Amber and Prudence came out first.

IMG_0485Brianna soon followed. But it took Beatrix awhile.  She hesitated a long time.

IMG_0488But finally joined the others.

IMG_0496But the outside water was frozen!

IMG_4504And there was that stupid snow again!  They didn’t stay out long.

IMG_0498Winter just isn’t very much fun.

IMG_0519

Back in the Coop Under the Stairs for the night.  A snack before bed and then it will be time to sleep.  And to dream of better times.

IMG_3276Ah Spring!  We have all been cooped up too long!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens, New England Weather, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter Blues…All Cooped Up

  1. Joanne says:

    Winter gives us an excuse to knit, sew and do other crafts indoors without feeling guilty about outdoor tasks not done.

  2. pattigail says:

    Agreed. In November I look forward to indoor crafts. In December I am still enjoying cozy fires. And even in January I can see beauty in the snow. But enough is enough! By February I am ready to be outside. By March I am desperate. It is time for a little green!🌷🍀💐 ☺️

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    Your girls are beautiful! You obviously take great care of them – mealworms – lucky chickens!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

