My Socks

I have been knitting for many years.  I have made scarves, hats, sweaters, baby things…but I have never made socks.  It is not because I don’t like socks.  I do.  In fact I love socks, especially thick woolie ones.  It is not that I don’t have any yarn.  I have lots of yarn leftover from various projects.  And I would love to turn it all into socks.  But socks are made on double pointed needles…four of them.  And that is a bit intimidating.  So I was delighted when my friend Carole told me she would be teaching a sock class.  A little hand holding is exactly what I need to finally attempt sock making.  

So over the last three weeks I have been working on my socks.  We started with the ribbing.IMG_0325One false start….my first attempt was too small so I started again on larger needles.

IMG_0348Ribbing complete!

The next class was about turning the heel.IMG_0433Heel turned, foot done.  Almost there.

IMG_0436Both socks are ready for toes.  Very exciting!

IMG_0440TA-DA!  One warm and wo0lie sock complete.  And it fits perfectly!  The other sock is almost done.

IMG_0326And a new pair begun!  I can make socks!!!   Thanks Carole!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Socks

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    I would find it very hard to knit with that foot in the sock, especially if it were my foot. You must be more flexible than I am.
    Ed

  2. wspines says:

    My pleasure Patti, I loved the class.carole

  3. GREAT!! Love the color too!

  4. rlogan1155 says:

    Socks are pretty advanced for me. I can’t even make a decent square and believe me I’ve tried many times. I blame it on the fact I’m left handed and only right handed people have tried to teach me. Nice socks by the way.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

    • pattigail says:

      I am left handed. It does make it harder to learn from a right handed person. But everyone knits differently. If you keep trying you will find a way that is comfortable for you. Don’t give up.

  5. bridget says:

    Well done! I’ve knitted 1 pair of socks in my lifetime. Under tuition at school. It was such trauma I never tried again. You made it look so easy.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

