A Touch of Spring

Today is St. Brigid’s Day.  In Ireland it is considered to be the first day of Spring….when signs of  life begin to return to the world.  Unfortunately, I am not in Ireland, I am in New England, and it will be awhile before we can expect any green shoots or buds here.  But at least it was warmer today, and the sun was out for a time.  The air actually felt pleasant.  More people were out and about, enjoying the day and it was possible to even stop and chat.  What a pleasant change from the bitter cold we have been having!  It is not the beginning of Spring, but it is something, and I will take it.

The girls are back out in the coop and loving it.  When I brought them their oatmeal this morning they were already out enjoying a dust bath.

 IMG_0296But they didn’t mind being interrupted for breakfast.  Look at the sunshine!

IMG_0294It was 40F in the run!  Quite a bit warmer than it has been.

 IMG_0309Lots of scratching and pecking to catch up on.  They have spent too many days in the Coop Under the Stairs this winter.  Hopefully they will be back in Cluckingham Palace for awhile. 

IMG_0310And this was waiting for me when I checked the nesting box.  Beatrix is laying again!  So now Brianna, Prudence and Beatrix are all laying…but Amber is still waiting for warmer weather.

Snow is predicted for later in the week, with more cold.  But today was nice…a touch of Spring…a reminder of what is to come…eventually.

IMG_0292For now I will have to settle for the colors of Spring inside.

Happy St. Brigid’s Day! 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens, New England Weather, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Touch of Spring

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    Hi Patti, Are you posting from your phone? I’m trying to and if I lay the phone on it’s side I find the keyboard a little larger and easier to use. I haven’t figured out how to get pictures in where I want them but I am making progress for a dinosaur.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      Mostly I am blogging the regular way, but I have used the phone. Are these pictures you have taken with your phone? You should be able to upload them easily. Tap on the picture icon on the lower left. Hit the plus sign. Choose “add photo from library”….assuming you have already taken the picture….choose your photo from photo stream, camera roll or wherever it is. Choose size…I like large pictures, the phone is small enough! When the picture appears, hit back and it should be in your post. You can view it by pressing the eye icon in the lower left. Is that what you are doing? That is what works for me. Hope that helps. You must be getting excited about your hike!

      • hobacaitbe says:

        It took me a few weeks to realize that thing in the lower right? was for pictures. Is there a way to add more than 1 picture at a time? I also have a featured image section that appears to be like a header. I also like the large picture size and yes, the photos are from the phone. Excited isn’t the right word. scared, nervous, apprehensive and others work better. I am feeling a little better now that I have started to put things together and weigh them. Setting up the tent last night and sleeping out in it successfully also helps. I debated a lot over what kind of sleeping pad to bring. I went with the foam pad, light, simple in that it will not get an air-leak, it is bulky, keeps you off of the cold ground but does not have much (any) cushion. So being able to sleep on it last night made me very happy. I was even able to move these old bones in the morning. Fifty days and we leave but who’s counting?

      • pattigail says:

        Yes, you can add more than one picture, but not exactly at the same time. Get the first one and then before you hit back, hit the plus sign in the upper right…keep adding as many as you want and the hit back (upper left) and they will all go into your post. I don’t think you can arrange them too creatively…just centered.
        Your featured image is done when you set up the blog, isn’t it? It should be there every time…well it will appear when you publish….it isn’t actually there as you are writing a post. But if you want to change it, go to settings..the little gear icon lower left and you can change it. Though I haven’t tried that so I don’t know if it is tricky. You can also change visibility to private and do some tests just for yourself. You don’t have as many options as when you post from an actual computer but it works.
        50 days only? Well I hope the weather improves by then. Glad your tent worked out well. It will be an adventure I am sure..some parts of it better in the telling than in the actual doing…but it will be amazing. I am looking forward to your posts..with pictures please. 🙂

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

