Primrose Time

                                        “January bringthe snow,

                                         Makes the feet and fingers glow.”

That is how the poem begins.   But for me, the best thing about January, is primroses.  The holidays are over and it is still winter.  And here in New England, it will be winter for quite a while.  There is nothing green and living anywhere to be seen.   And then magically, cheerful little primroses appear in the grocery stores.  How can you resist?  I can’t.  I would never get through January without primroses.

IMG_4436 Aren’t they beautiful?

IMG_4441

I repot them into nice clay pots with some new soil and put them everywhere.

IMG_4449The kitchen…IMG_4451The  table…

IMG_4456A sunny table..

IMG_4462Even the loom room got some.

Hopefully they will keep blooming until Spring.  Then I will bring them outside and plant them.  They don’t mind a bit of shade so they love the edges of the woodland gardens.  And there they will stay, returning every Spring…adding their cheery colors to a time of awakening life.  

And for now, they will be a reminder of that time.  A bit of life in a lifeless world…

IMG_4439   

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Primrose Time

  1. Joanne says:

    My geraniums haven’t stopped blooming since I brought them in from the window boxes, and now you gave me the idea to tuck a few primroses in between the pots of geranium. Thank you Patti.

  2. carole adams says:

    The primroses are so beautiful I wish I could grow them here What a beautiful day but snows a coming!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

