Making a Terrarium

A few years ago, a friend gave me a very nice little glass house.  When I was setting up the loom room, I rediscovered it.  It is perfect for a terrarium.  I have never made one before, but a quick google search provided ample instruction.  What did we ever do before the internet?  

It certainly seemed simple enough.  

IMG_4289
Here is the empty glass house. It even has a chicken on the roof!

IMG_4291
I gathered up some things I would need. Stones, charcoal, moss, potting soil, peat moss, little plants, holiday greens, pinecones and birch bark.

IMG_4292
First step, add a layer of stones. About an inch deep is enough. This is for drainage.
IMG_4293

Next add a little bit of charcoal. You can buy this at garden centers. It eliminates any odors.
IMG_4294 I then added a layer of moss. This is where there were some differences in the instructions I found. Some added moss at the end, but some added it here. It absorbs moisture. I also think it looks nice. I didn’t buy moss, though you can. I found some growing on rocks in the woods and harvested it.

I then mixed some peat moss with some potting soil and put in on top of the moss.  I added peat moss because I was using woodland plants. 

Once you have this base you can just get creative.  I added the larger plant first and then added pinecones, princess pine, winterberries, bits of birch bark…whatever you like.IMG_4295
I even added a little ceramic thatched cottage but I didnt really like it.  You could only see the roof so it looked like a brown blob.  So I took it out and added another plant and  a few more greens.

IMG_4307
That is better.  I added a bit more moss between the plants and it was done.

IMG_4311
I misted it all so it was moist and closed the cover.  And that is all.  Mist as needed.  The key is to keep it moist but not too wet.  We shall see how it goes.


About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in holiday greens, Nature, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a Terrarium

  1. Really pretty!! Nice idea for the glass house..

  2. My husband bought me an already made terrarium earlier this year. I have this thing about killing plants. I can do great with a vegetable garden outside, but give me an indoor plant and it dies in less than a month. So the person at the flower shop told him about terrariums and he bought me one, hoping it would survive. It has! I haven’t even had to water it yet either and it has been months. It is like its own little enclosed world.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

