The Winter Solstice Approaches

It has been quite gray and drizzly here.  With the Solstice approaching, the days have grown shorter so this weather has made it feel very dark.  All the more reason to make things festive.  I have been gathering greens for the window boxes and to bring inside.  It is an ancient tradition that I just love.  Evergreens are a symbol of life.   They are brought inside as a reminder that winter will not last forever…life will return.  And bright red winterberries add even more hope.

Unlike last year, the winterberries are glorious this year and abundant.

IMG_4202
I will fill the window boxes and bring the rest inside.

IMG_4206I gather up as many vases as I can find.  Filled with greens, they will brighten up every corner.

IMG_4234

Here is one of the finished vases in the bathroom.

IMG_4207
Another near the sink.  Why not have something nice to look at while you do the dishes?

IMG_4213
Another in the corner on the radio.

IMG_4211
And this one is on the table by the front window.  I put them everywhere. They are beautiful and they fill the house with the smell of pine.  Delicious!

The mantle is also dressed for the season.
IMG_4254Lights twinkle among the greens and reds.

Fires add warmth and light to the darkness, so welcome at this time of year.

We will spend time here and by the wood stove, cozy and warm. 

And outside, the window boxes, filled with the greens and reds of the season, offer a welcome to all.

IMG_4244

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Darkness and Light, Nature, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Winter Solstice Approaches

  1. What about the chook house? I love it when you decorate your coop to match your house.

  2. Pam R. says:

    I want you to come dress my house next Christmas!! Everything looked so nice and cheerful!! An excellent job!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

