Chilly Nights

A cold front is moving in bringing strong winds and cold nights. A low of 10F is predicted for tomorrow. Brrr! Winter is definitely making its presence felt. We are fine inside with our nice warm stove, but Cluckingham Palace is unheated. So today I made sure it was as warm as possible. There are only four girls now so there is extra space in the nesting box where they sleep. And poor Prudence is molting and has fewer feathers to keep her warm.

IMG_4161
I have already added towels around the windows to keep the drafts out.IMG_4169
And I  have hung a quilt between the coop part and the potting shed part of the Cluckingham Palace.  At night it closes over the door to the coop.

IMG_4160

This year I also hung a fleece on the inside, near the roost. This is very cozy for them.

IMG_4158
Pillow shams are in place, to be lowered over the window at night.  So today I wanted to install their “bed canopy” over their nesting box.  I did this last year.  It helps to keep the warmth  from rising up to the ceiling.

IMG_4165
Here it is in place.  The “bed canopy.”  I think it adds a little bit more insulation for them.

And on really cold nights, we still have the “coop under the stairs.”  

IMG_4185
“Good night, Girls.”

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Hens, New England Weather, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chilly Nights

  1. Spoiled, spoiled, spoiled girls. They are so lucky to have landed at Brookwood Shire with that softie of an owner!!! 🙂

    • pattigail says:

      I have thought about that many times. I got them from a hatchery in Texas…I joked that they would arrive wearing cowboy boots…the hatchery has hundreds of chicks and these baby girls were picked as soon as they hatched and placed together in the box for Brookwood Shire. It was quite random. I don’t know what other places they ship to, but I am glad that these girls arrived here. Lucky for everyone!

  2. hobacaitbe says:

    I agree with Laura. Quilt, curtains and a canopy, good grief Charlie Brown. I have turned on the light bulb water-heater all of the outside waterers have been freezing, so we have stopped using them. But I’m not ready to hang curtains. I am happy to report that the chickens have stopped camping out and are back to sleeping in the coop.
    It does look cozy though.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      Where were they camping out? In this weather? As for the curtains, I think that is the difference between having a “mommy” or a “daddy.” Perhaps there will be curtains when you come back from your hike….and your wife makes beautiful quilts….anything is possible. We shall have to wait and see.

      • hobacaitbe says:

        They have been camping out in the original run all summer. It is quite secure so I didn’t worry about their safety. An added bonus they didn’t poop in the coop. I didn’t have to clean the coop all summer. They started going in maybe 2 weeks ago, well some of them would. Miny pecked at Mini till she left the coop and roosted in the run all by herself, until Jack the gentleman, came out and joined her side by side. This happened 1 other night and the pair spent the night together. It is a lot colder now so my wife and I are herding them into the coop at night.
        Lil will be in charge while I go for my walk, if she wants curtains………………….
        Ed

      • pattigail says:

        Oh dear, I hate when they peck each other. I am glad that Jack kept Mini company. I hope they can all share the coop in the cold weather. Mine sometimes try to exclude Beatrix but I won’t let them leave her on her own in the cold. They know who the real boss is I think. 🙂

  3. bridget says:

    Lovely too see the girls being well cared for. Well cosy in there.

  4. wspines says:

    They look cozy and thats all that counts. I bought a rolling cage for Hazel and Mrs. Brown, they will be comfortable up in the sunny room for the winter. Hows the drop spindling going?

    • pattigail says:

      A rolling cage? That is a good idea for moving them. They will love having their own little honeymoon cottage in the “big” house. Even if they do have to take that medicine. I am hoping to practice a bit tonight with the drop spindle. Haven’t touched it yet though…So we shall see. Have a wonderful time in Florida. I hope the weather cooperates and you have no adventures along the way. See you when you get back. Patti

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

