The Loom Room

When we first moved here, over twenty five years ago, we were thrilled to have an extra bedroom for guests.  We had always lived in tiny one bedroom apartments before this and the idea that we could have a bedroom to offer guests was quite exciting.  And so, for years that room was the guest room.

IMG_4088

Then a few years ago, a friend gave me her old loom.  The only place to set up the loom was in the guest room.  It is a small room but I managed to fit the loom in.

IMG_4089
The loom got a little less than half the space. To weave I had to pull the loom out. It was not always convenient, but it was possible.  Bill built me some shelves for fiber for weaving and that helped.

But…I began to fantasize about having a whole room for weaving.  To have the loom set up in the middle of the room seemed like a wonderful idea.  And the truth is, we don’t have overnight guests that often.

IMG_4090
And besides, this couch in the den, does pull out. Guests could sleep here. 

So today I decided to create my loom room.  We don’t really need a guest room…..

IMG_4101
The loom is in the middle of the room. Accessible from all sides. This makes putting the warp on MUCH easier.
IMG_4099
The warping board is hanging.  I can wind a warp without rearranging the whole room!  This will be wonderful!

IMG_4103
Bill also put some shelves in the closet. Weaving has a LOT of equipment.
IMG_4104
There is even room for some bags of yarn for knitting projects!

Fergus will miss the bed…and Merlin liked sleeping  in the pillows, not to mention it was a good place to hide from the vacuum cleaner.  But they will adjust.

And I will have space to weave….now what should I make first? 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, house projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Loom Room

  1. I call my loom room the textile studio – makes me sound like I’m competent or an artist, or both 😉

  2. How very exciting. I would love to do the same thing with my spare room but we have too many family member staying at different times. And we got a call from my step daughter to say that she was leaving her partner and moving into our house with her 6 month old baby. Oh dear.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

