Chipmunks

As the days grow shorter and colder, I have been noticing a lot of chipmunks scurrying  about making preparations  for winter.  I must say that they have been very restrained this year and are only now discovering my pumpkins and window boxes.  Last year by this time they had feasted on everything.

This year it started with this pumpkin.

IMG_4064
First a tiny hole, growing larger every day.
IMG_4063
Until it was the perfect size.

IMG_4070
Here he is again with his little cheeks very full of something.

IMG_4074
Perhaps the Indian corn from this window box.

A further inspection of the other window boxes revealed more of his work.

IMG_4075
Indian corn consumed. Pumpkin sampled.
IMG_4084
He HAS been busy!

IMG_4080
Oh dear. He has found another pumpkin to munch.

I don’t really mind.  As I have said before, there are many inhabitants of Brookwood Shire.  We have to share.  There is plenty for everyone.

IMG_4068
And as you can see, our chipmunk friend is not the only one helping himself to our window boxes!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chipmunks

  1. Love the one with the squirrel and chippie! So cute!

  2. wspines says:

    THe pictures are great, I do love chipmunks . Great BLog

    • pattigail says:

      I took the pictures from the house. I think my little camera did quite well given the distance. The chipmunks are too busy to worry too much about someone in the house pointing something at them. So I was lucky to get such close ups. I love chipmunks too.

  3. Oh wow, I want chipmunks and squirrels. Are they the cutest thing ever or what? And aren’t you nice to distribute those yummy winter stores within easy reach.

    LOVE the photos, my fav is the chipmunk in the pumpkin – I guess he wasn’t shy!

    • pattigail says:

      Do you not have squirrels and chipmunks in Australia? I thought they were everywhere. They are very cute. The chipmunks will settle in eventually for the winter and we won’t see the again until Spring, but the squirrels will stay. They are very amusing all winter as they find ingenious ways to get at all the bird feeders. They are amazing acrobats and quite entertaining. Though Merlin of course takes offence at their presence.

      • No squirrels or chipmunks – we have pigeons, does that count 🙂

        I guess our equivalent is possums but they only play at night so we miss out on all the fun.

        You live in a lovely part of the world and you make it more lovely with your garden – keep it up and enjoy it!

  4. Beautiful decorations then become a buffet for local wildlife which are also beautiful to look at. Fun!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

