The Colors of Fall

It was chilly this morning.  No frost, but a distinct chill was in the air.  The season progresses.  The bright lightness of September has given way to the overcast days of October.  The colors look absolutely brilliant in this light.  Tree trunks are blackened and the orange, red and gold of the leaves seem even brighter against the gray sky.

 Here in New England it is a time for pumpkins and gourds and mums.  I just love it.

The summer window boxes were looking very tired and bedraggled…just spent.  So I have been filling them with the colors of Fall.

IMG_3953

I am sure the busy squirrels and chipmunks will discover them at some point but right now they are crisp and new.

IMG_3961
The shed window box also got a fresh look.

IMG_3976
And of course, the coop reflects the season.

IMG_3962

A carpet of leaves and pine needles add color to the back.  Even the grass is wearing Fall colors.

In the front of the house, along the walkway, I have added a few new mums and some pumpkins. 

IMG_3967

The dark reds and creamy whites are striking against the orange pumpkins.

IMG_3970
One last burst of color before the grays and browns of November descend upon us.

IMG_3975

The barefoot days of summer are gone.  The wellies stand by the back door,  ready for any treks into the gardens.

IMG_3971
While the front door, with its Indian corn, pumpkin and mum, welcomes the season.

Happy Fall everyone!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, Nature, Seasons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Colors of Fall

  1. Oh my goodness! Could you please drop by and work your magic to make our place look like that!? It looks amazing! So autumny (yes, just invented a word). It should be on the cover of a magazine.

    • pattigail says:

      Thank you very much! It is such a gorgeous time of year. And you can hardly go wrong with the colors and textures of all the gourds and the pumpkins. And Mums are so beautiful..so it is a joy to make things “autumny”.

  2. I bet in the next post you confess that this post is all done with CGI magic. Truly, does it look as wonderful as these photos? Are you leasing your property out to a movie crew? I was bowled over by that window box until I saw those wellies by the back door. No wait, the chicken coop is my favourite part. Oh, how about???? Gollie gee, this is amazing!

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks Laura. I think it has to do with spending over 20 years in kindergarten creating magical spaces. Now that energy goes to Brookwood Shire. I know Bill thinks it is a little over the top…but I love doing it. Not to mention it really is the last burst of color before winter descends. Yes there are greens and winterberry in December….the truly LAST color until Spring, but the reds and golds of Autumn are a very big treat in New England. So why not indulge a little?😉

  3. Beautiful! I love Autumn (Fall), it’s my favourite time of year.

  4. bridget says:

    Your place looks so great. Love the window boxes most but I really just love it all.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

