Fall is in the Air

Today was an amazing day.  After some very “swampy” hot and humid weather a few days ago,  followed by some very impressive thunderstorms,  the air has finally cleared.  It is crisp and dry and cool.  Delicious really.  Fall has arrived!  You can feel the change.  There are a few yellow leaves and a sense of expectation of more to come.  No matter what you think of winter, Fall is a glorious time, especially in New England.  Like so many others, it is my favorite season.

I walked around the gardens today to take stock.  The nights are growing cool and the heat loving plants are finishing their time.  My tomatoes were getting a blight.  My neighbor told me hers had gotten one a few weeks ago so I wasn’t surprised.  They are mostly done in any case.  So I cut them back, harvesting all the tomatoes.  I have 2 brown bags in the pantry full of green tomatoes.  They should ripen in a few days.

IMG_3903
Meanwhile these ripe brandywines should see us through for awhile.

IMG_3902
And these Roma tomatoes are ready to roast and freeze.

There is still some chard growing and a bit of lettuce which is almost ready.  And LOTS of marigolds.

IMG_3890
It has been a very good year for marigolds. These were supposed to be 10 inches tall. They have taken over the gardens!  The nasturtiums are also happy and the alyssum continues to bloom.

IMG_3882
I have harvested my one pumpkin from the pumpkin patch. It sits near the nasturtiums at the foot of the scarlet runner teepee. You can see that the deer have been back. But there are some bean pods so I will harvest them and save the seeds for next year.

IMG_3888
The Brussels Sprouts are looking promising despite the fact that they are leaning a bit.

IMG_3880
The Morning Glories are blooming at last!   We had to brace up the trellis they are so heavy.  But they are beautiful.

IMG_3884
The sunflowers are drooping, their heads heavy with seed.  The birds will most likely harvest most of the seed, but I have fantasies of some nice sunflower butter if I get there first.

IMG_3895
These Asters are striking against the birch.

IMG_3899
The pink hues of the Autumn Joy Sedum adds color to the spent gardens.  “A last meal for the bees,” as a friend of mine said.

IMG_3891
Though the bees have also been feasting on this Autumn Clematis which is in its full glory right now. Just stunning! And it has a lovely scent as well.

Nature is not finished yet.  The gardens change with the seasons.  The thrill of the daffodils emerging is long past.  The colors of Spring fade and the Summer flowers take their place.  Now the late bloomers are having their turn…to be followed by the incredible show the trees will put on as their leaves turn to yellows and reds.   There is more to come!

 It is nice to pause in the midst of the end of the summer chores and just enjoy it all!

IMG_3905

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, Nature, Seasons, summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fall is in the Air

  1. Still as lovely as ever… The Shire is a special place.

  2. Linda says:

    Thanks for your lovely words and pictures. What a wonderful place to be!

  3. Green with ENVY. I have tried Brussels sprouts several times. I’ve lost them every time to cabbage moth or possums or bandicoots or chickens breaking into the veggie patch. You inspire me to try try again!

  4. pattigail says:

    Thanks Laura. Brussels sprouts are tricky I think. The first couple of times I grew them I had beginner’s luck. Then last year they did nothing. This year is better but only a few plants made it. Still, they are amazing freshly picked….especially after a frost. So it is worth trying again. Do you get frosts there? Maybe you will have better luck now that you are at the farm. You are just going into Spring there….they might be winter plants for you….or maybe Spring plants. How strange to have food growing all year. It must be wonderful! Good luck.

    • We sow them in late summer here and harvest in winter/spring (or at least the possums do 🙂 ). On the farm we do get frosts which means I have no idea what to expect. Of course we have to get a veggie garden first. We’re still busy pulling down vines and cutting back dead wood and yanking out weeds and removing unwanted volunteer trees and… I’m not sure when we’ll actually dig a veggie bed – hopefully in time for the sowing of Brussels Sprouts seeds (March-ish).

  5. bridget says:

    Fall has arrived here in Ireland too. So hard to think that Summer has left us. A period of readjustment to a new season…

  6. wspines says:

    Love all the pictures Patti everything looks so bright and beautiful. We missed the frost last night so my hundreds of green tomatoes are saved . Hope all is well. I especially love the brussel sprouts which I haven’t grown in years.
    Carole

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

