Home Grown, Home Made Tomato Sauce

Just where did the summer go?  It is winding down now and the gardens are looking a bit tired.  Many things are finished, but the tomatoes are doing fine!  I have already picked, roasted and frozen one bunch of Roma tomatoes.  Today I had enough for a second batch.  This time though, since it was a drippy, dreary day, I decided to make tomato sauce.  This sauce would not only be home made…it would be,  for the most part, home grown!  

First the tomatoes.  I put some oil on a pan, sliced the tomatoes in half, added some fresh basil, rosemary and oregano, all from the garden, and popped them in the oven for about  half an hour.

IMG_3844
They smelled wonderful!

Next you remove the skins.

IMG_3846
They come off easily.

And I know who would like those skins!

IMG_3847
“What did you brings us?”

IMG_3856
“Oh YUM!”

Back to the sauce.  I was thrilled that almost all the other ingredients were also from the garden.

IMG_3857
We finished my garlic last week, so this is from the farmer’s market.  As are the carrots.  My carrots didn’t survive the deer.. sigh..But the onions, pepper, celery and herbs were all grown here.

First chop the onion.

IMG_3859
Saute in olive oil until the onion is soft.

IMG_3860
Add some garlic and green peppers. Let it simmer while you chop the celery and carrots.
IMG_3861Add those and stir.
IMG_3862

Next chop the herbs, except the bay leaf. Add to the pot.
And then add the tomatoes.
IMG_3863
Stir and simmer for about an hour.

And look what is leftover!
IMG_3865
And I knew just what to do with it.
IMG_3866

The girls heard me coming and were waiting excitedly. They just LOVE getting treats!
IMG_3868

I left them scratching happily and went back inside.

When the sauce was almost ready I made up some spaghetti… and…Voila!
IMG_3873
Delicious!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Gardens, Hens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Grown, Home Made Tomato Sauce

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    Looks good, I made a batch of sauce the other day because the tomatoes were taking over. I still use the boil and simmer method on the stove top. It sure makes the kitchen smell great. I froze all I made in 2 cup servings in ziplock bags. I didn’t remove the skins, just used an immersion blender on the sauce for the first time, worked great.
    Ed

  2. pattigail says:

    i didn’t use to remove the skins either….but I didn’t have chickens then….they loved the skins! Isn’t it wonderful to have tomato sauce in the freezer…it is like a piece of summer!

  3. wspines says:

    It all looks so good Patti I do love having sauce in the freezer too. I hope the hundreds of tomatoes I have on the vine ripen. I think I will put a sheet of plastic over them making a greenhouse of sorts, maybe that will help. The girls look great.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

